Giant rubik cube 3x3 | DIY

in #art6 years ago (edited)

DQmPXBvLPGi3xCjUgmXGrtZpERYE7CDAtq6Tsa2ADDkM8wZ.jpg

Hi guys!

I think this has been one of the jobs that has taken me longer to finish, I even did it this week since I have been totally free and with zero stress for the whole theme of Easter.
Let me tell you that it is not difficult but I want to warn you that it takes a lot of patience to elaborate it. Before teaching you how to make a cube like mine, I want to tell you why I decided to do it.

DQmcTnZkvBXBQzxsb54cmbUxePzyqeaagBkS1aCCQVNdCBX_1680x8400.png

It's not a secret that I like art, crafts ...

In fact if you check my feed, most of my posts focus on that, CREATE. It's something that entertains and de-stresses me. If I start a project I do not rest until I finish it (the cube did not let me sleep literally), but that does not sleep many times "I love it", it is that I get so excited that I focus on just seeing it finished.
Many art lovers in general will understand me when I say this.

Why make a Rubik's cube?

For about a month or a little more, I've been surrounded by cube buffs (including my boyfriend). He, in the hope that I will learn how to put one together, has explained a little but nothing ... I always end up with a headache.
So, watching some videos on YouTube, on how to build cubes, techniques, solutions ... I came across a very interesting one. Look at it here.

So...

That light bulb went on
I could not stay calm anymore and I had to do it, and I thought it was a good and easy idea that would also serve as a very original gift.

To start I leave the materials ...

These are the ones that I used but you can really do it with what you have in your house.
I did not have any expense in the elaboration of this cube, everything I used had it already.

DQmXGY3pdZFg5AFzuyn796ecq693KjqXYZg8QJ2rMgvqJLE.gif

DQmcTnZkvBXBQzxsb54cmbUxePzyqeaagBkS1aCCQVNdCBX.png

Materials

Paper
Black cardboard
Paper or cardboard colors green, blue, red, white, yellow and orange.
(I made a classic cube but it is valid to change the colors)
Scissors
Glue
Rule
Pencil

DQmcTnZkvBXBQzxsb54cmbUxePzyqeaagBkS1aCCQVNdCBX.png

Process

1

The first step is to download and print the file that I'm going to leave here, it contains all the templates you'll need to build the cube. This is only if you are going to do it with the measurements that I used, otherwise just copy the templates on a sheet with the size you want and simply cut out.

You must keep something like that

DQmbpGHnWxCn63so8bvMhTe31MygWYkRa3LCgMSnam97RcV_opt.jpg

2

We are going to pass these templates to a more resistant material, in this case the cardboard is a good option (you can use other material such as thin cardboard).
I did not use any special technique, basically it is to take a pencil and make the outline of the templates on the cardboard.

Finally you should cut them the number of times I indicate in the following image.

DQmaTame1cbDNVMTNbGYToBRVXBJk1GDeKds56jWXdtKMKE_1680x8400_opt.jpg

You have already cut out all the parts of your cube and it's time to shape it.
Using a ruler and your hands you will carefully bend all the tabs and lines that are marked on each piece.

3

We take the next piece that we will call rods.
They will be joined to the small cube that we already have ready.
With the help of a thick marker or some object that can shape it, you will hold it for a few seconds until it is as seen in the image.
The next step is to fold the tabs, put glue and stick it to the bucket.

Repeat this step with each stick, they are 6 and each one is stuck to each side of the cube.

You see it?

DQmW5TeUhSejWyS8mi4KkeszNwdw84gTaeEMWoA9Bo8EVEx_1680x8400.jpg

4

This is the last step to finally finish our core.
At the end of this step we will have 50% of our cube ready.

Pay a lot of attention...
You will take the next 4 pieces and you will repeat the first steps
(fold with the ruler and paste the tabs of each one that needs it).

Take the cube with the attached sticks and you will insert the pieces in each stick in the following order:

Square with the hole in the center
Ring
Circle
and finally the box (centerpiece).

DQmfY9PpEkbpsEvDYpUQHmQvi9EgbrZttw7WfnjLUKMj9qT.jpg

In this case, the glue should only be placed on the eyelashes to stick to the cicle.
We do not want the box to be stuck, because the idea is that it can move to fulfill the function of a normal cube.

Try rotating each box on your cane, if it moves then we go pretty well.

5

Almost done!

Let's now build the exterior of our cube, and we only have 2 pieces left that are the edges and corners.
Repeat the previous steps with each of them (fold with the ruler and paste the tabs).
You will get a total of 20 pieces between "Aristas" and "esquinas".

DQmdoje4fw1JTBWENifJUyyS1G5GsX5mRpucNnvazUTkNW7.jpg

6

ARE YOU ALREADY READY?

Then you must be eager to put it together, put the pieces together with the core and go placing each one inside it (it will be like a gear).

I confess that this was my favorite step because I saw the result of so much work, everything went very well and I just needed to put color.

DQmWrkh4XTgW8ABvhnxnj9KJB5xfyUwPJhdupKL3a6CZdQo_1680x8400.jpg

7

Cut out colored squares, I made them 4cm x 4cm.
If you want a different cube you can change the colors of it.

Used colors: green, blue, red, orange, white and yellow.

Be as creative as you want!

DQmWYNxjPCnSHap99YbTusTtU61B5mr1k6tv4RuuzpbBJ4y.jpg

Paste colored squares to the cube.

Each side of the cube has a different color.

DQmdR5DHGQRQ5XZLjkMXFgpgnfK9aQJNZe8jasv7zQe2JCd.gif

We're done

Did you like it?

I would love it if you get to do it leave me your comment below.
Thank you very much for staying until the end,

We read ...

DQmcTnZkvBXBQzxsb54cmbUxePzyqeaagBkS1aCCQVNdCBX (1).png

All the images were taken and edited by me | Iphone camera | -ANNIE COHEN-

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72