Leather is My Art Medium -- Making The Most Epic Steampunk Hat Part 2 -- An Armadilloman "How I Did That" Photo Blog

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I get a commission to make some pretty interesting stuff sometimes.  I just finished up the latest which was an attempt to make the "most epic steampunk hat" ever.  

This hat was quite a pull to get finished, taking over 30 hours.  And as is my habit, I took photos of the process.  So enjoy the process from blank cowhide to finished hat and warning...its a bit of a complicated build.

First thing I had to do is to get the very complicated pattern pieces together.  I have made several versions of this hat previously.  This one is going to be different in that it is multicolored, slightly shorter, and riveted together as well as stitched.  The brim is going to be lined and made of multiple pieces as well, which is different.

First I modifed and organized the pattern pieces excluding the brim, which I did later.  Tabs were put on the pattern pieces so that I could rivet some of the parts together.

Starting with big pieces of 3-4 oz vegetable tanned cowhide, I hand textured them, this one with new tool I recently acquired.  The other pieces I stomped on outside and beat on with a mallet on my weather worn deck.

This piece of cowhide was then colored red and a black highlight stain applied and then scrubbed partially off, leaving the stain in the tooled dimples in the leather.

The pattern pieces are traced around on the leather and each part is given a number designation so that I can keep track of where they go in the hat.

And the pieces are cut out using a leather shears.

Here are the 3 different colors and textures I am using for this projecg...Red, Grey and Black.

The parts that will be "X" stitched together are temporarily taped together with masking tape on the back and the stitching holes are marked and punched.

All of the pieces are wadded up and distressed, giving the leather the right feel and look.

Then the parts are stitched together....

...and riveted together...

---until we have the crown all pieced together.  It is not flat because there are tucks in it to pull the center in, giving it that steampunk shape.

The opposite ends of the crown are drawn together and riveted...

...and the three pieces that make up the top put together.

The crown body and top are turned inside out and hand stitched.

When all is stitched up, the crown is turn back right side out, which is kind of a problem and takes some doing since the leather is still stiff. 

The brim pieces are cut and held together with masking tape until...

...the brim top is glued to the lining and the stitching holes punched.

The now lined and punched brim is stitched to the completed crown.

The lining underside of the brim is colored black.

The hat is then stretched to size onto a hat form head and some touch up on the color and finish is done.

To make the hatband, a simple leather pocket to hold a small brass compass is riveted on to a 1 1/8" strip of leather.

And loops for three small apothecary bottles are riveted on the other side.

And I place lots of gears in between.  

And finally, we are done with band and hat.



Epic eh?  Feel free to ask me any questions.

Thank you for your time and kind attention!  If you like this type of content, please consider upvoting, following and giving a resteem.  --Armadilloman

To maximize my time, I do most of my upvoting and following through Steem Engine.  You should too! 


Check out the handmade Steem and Steemit branded leather items you can purchase for SBD in Armadilloman's Steem Leather Shop.





Sort:  

Hi armadilloman,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

THAT is a delightful piece! Love the process photos and how beautifully it came together! Do the gears move or are they only decorative?
Great job!

I have thought about making a piece where the gears move...crank one and they all turn kind of thing. I may make a hat some time with a door that opens with moving gears behind. Thanks for the kind comment!

Great job! Very compliment

Yes, this is an epic hat! Thanks for sharing!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

I would totally use those vials for magical herbs

You can get them on Amazon!

Awesome job.. Could image Slash from Guns and roses wearing this..

Thanks for the kudos, @rloriaux! Stay tuned as I give away leather goods once a month to some lucky Steemian.

How Cool!

You got a 34.48% upvote from @coolbot courtesy of @armadilloman!

Help us grow, delegate today!

Great Post! Congratulations! Thank you for sharing! You got $1 upvotes from me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15