N E O G O T H I C

in #art6 years ago

12299281_1531587380497023_4138814041024241238_n.jpg


For a long time and with a lot of honesty I have deepen in myself and my exploration, and the tangible verification that has been manifested through art, who I am as an individual is the constant search; but such an specific endeavor has enlightened my position as a collective shape, it’s true that I have categorized myself in previous texts as “symbolic” but today I make an act of a less plural recognition.



24174185_1955765691412521_8444647435898820603_n.jpg


The gothic style was known in the middle ages, characterized by its dark ornamented atmosphere and connected to the baroque, resulting in the raw surroundings that was seen in that historic moment, today I say it and it wouldn’t be the first time that I leave this clear that I think that we’re in a cycle again that puts us in some kind of middle age time, without inquisition but with cigars, trash and guns, it’s almost like a law in which periods of time are manifested through art, it’s interesting and intelligent from part of this surrounding convert in art the characteristics from the time into a memory like specie that categorize and identifies us in time.


28424383_2008271139495309_5870338973804920236_o.jpg


Converting poison into medicine.

The ornaments are others, the baroque was substituted by minimalism as influence, but yet, it can perceive the gothic essence within the pieces.

In my personal opinion I’d define my work as “neogothic symbolism” I think it combines perfectly my influences and inspirations.

But I must say that I’m not the only example of neogothic art, near me, by pure synchrony, a few of the artists I closely work with I think enter this phenomenon.

The neogothic art can be felt in urban proposals like the ones from: @ottotrecientos

Experimental like the ones from: @ynor

Under classical natural methods like the ones from: @josegodox

It’s simply happening in spite of anyone who instead of this want to see more friendly images.
The neogothic art makes poison into medicine and only those who have the eyes to appreciate it will understand the value of its resurgence.



3.JPG


May this post serve as an identity manifest to leave clear my vision of categories.


8150e065334613.5af0f5a8441f0.jpg


In relation to the visual in this post, they’re a collection of the details of old and new art, the portrait, a detail from “Ariadna” something more than a portrait, the second one is called, “the geometry of reflection” both examples from the first drawings done in the beginning of 2015 where I believe I approached more of today’s outcome, the next ceramic piece is composed by one of mi works “Mitosis” and the last one is one of the ones that compose the installation I called “Orbe”, both from this year, the last picture was in an inauguration from the contemporary art exhibition called “Triple Entopia” from the collective I belong to; Trifasico, they are the characters that @ynor and I created to inhabit in the work.

All clear examples of Neogothic art that I use to make image to this phenomenon.


Photography: A33 - Zorelin Gomez - @ariadnazerpa


logo armando png-01.png


Sort:  

very interesting :O i love the discussion and the thought provoking approach to the art genres.... i love gothic and i think now i love neogothic also :> looking forward to your future neogothic arts :D

You rock bro, this is awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23