SPEED PAINTING of My Latest Pet Portrait (VIDEO)

in #art6 years ago

Latest Pet Commission


Hey everybody. Today I would like to share my latest commissioned portrait. Most of the pets I get commissioned to paint are highly stylized, but this time the client wanted something less embellished, which was perfect because the style I generally paint these pet portraits works best on large canvases.

This was an 8" by 10" Oil painting and the first time I have used linseed oil on a commission so I figured, "What the hell, I'm trying new things so why not do it live on Facebook for the world to see me potentially fail?" It only took about an hour to realize that, paint mixing is much easier and oil paint can be applied effortlessly with a painting medium. Who knew?

I'm still not sure how I feel about the shininess in regards to photographing the artwork, but it seemed like it took me about half the time to paint with the linseed oil. So, I might do that again. I hope you enjoy the art, and let me know if you would like to see more posts like this.

The Art



Video of the Process



One More Day to Checkout My Huge End of the Year Sale



If you enjoyed this post I hope you upvote, resteem, and follow me. Comment with any insights, suggestions, questions, or complaints.



As An Artist How to Improve the Commission Process For You and Your Clients


You Get What You Pay For- How To Get The Most


Latest Commission- Charcoal Drawing


Latest Commission In the end of the Year Art Sale. See How Much You Can Save


Pelicans in the Sun- A Photo Series Of Last Night's Sunset


GREAT NEWS!!! Huge End of the Year Art Sale, and I am now accepting Steem and Steem Dollars


Portrait Painting Tutorial- A Walk-through of the "Cereal Killer" Oil Painting Series


Sketching on the Graveyard Shift- A Collection of Portrait Sketches


Photo Realism- Why I Am Done Simply "Recording" Images


Fluid Paintings Round 3 (with video)


W.I.P.- Oil Paint Portrait I am Working On


Migraine Madness- A Series of Oil Paintings Portraying Migraines


Fluid Paintings Round 2 (With Video)


Abstract Explosionism- Painting With Guns (With Video)


Fluid Paintings Round 1 (With Video)


Picking the Best Photo for Your Portrait Painting


 

Sort:  

beautiful painting, that's really amazing!

thanks for sharing this content! very talented!

Congratulations @art-mess, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2207 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $4664.27. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

The picture is very beautiful, full of meaning, I wait for the beauty so on... ☺️ 👍

Very amazing Work @art-mess , upvoted & resteemed

Thanks for the support. glad you enjoyed the work

Wow. You are great. Amazing. Hopefully, i can do like that one day.

Thank you. It takes a decision to start somewhere and a persistence to see it through. You can do it.

Thank you so much. I am following you now. Such a great artist.

A friend of mine has done many animal portraits, prize horses and bulls. While he prefers people and landscapes, he says people pay good money for paintings of their beloved non-humans.

Yes. My jam has always been surrealism, but nobody ever commissions me for that, only portraits. It seems that people are also more willing to get a painting of their dogs than they are there human loved ones. So I have been joking for about a year now that I am going to be known as the artist that paints dogs and that one day people are going to look back on all my surreal work and refer to it as my "Dark Period" When really it is what I have preferred to do all along. lol But I have to paint something to pay the bills and it definitely isn't my surrealism doing that.

It depends upon how you do "Surrealism", you can still find a buying audience. But yes, art has to pay its way. Persist, persist, persist.

Great painting, really brings the dog to life. And I always love watching things like the speed painting video. Good to see your experiment with the oil worked out as well. I just followed you and look forward to more.

Thank you! I will definitely do some more speed paintings then. Thanks for the follow. I followed you back. I see that you are from Oklahoma; what part? I grew up in the Wynnewood/Pauls Valley area.

We are just south of Tulsa, about 2.5 hours from Wynnewood. I am originally from New Jersey, but my wife has lived here all her life. I have been here for 16 years now.

My younger sister lives in Tulsa. So how do you like Oklahoma? Quite a bit different from New Jersey I imagine.

Yes, definitely much different. I could do without the risk of tornadoes! Also, I never had allergies until after being here for a couple years. Now they kick in every year. Other than that though I suppose it is pretty good, just took some getting use to.

Buy local honey. It helps with the allergy bit. I used to be a beekeeper.

Congratulations @art-mess! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I congratulate you for drawing really beautiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77