Fascinating motion of the sea!

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Love the sea in all its moods. Here is one, where it’s late afternoon and a storm is brewing! 

Seascape in oils by Ada Fagan:

The scene is a real place:

If you drive up the north coast, from Durban (Natal, South Africa) you come to the coastal town of Umhlanga Rocks. It’s is a high class tourist and holiday town. 

You park your car in parking lots, surrounded by flats and hotels, and then walk down lanes to the beach. 

The seashore is steep and therefore creates a somewhat short beach area. The sudden drop into the sea isn’t for learner swimmers.  

But the rock areas in this part of the coast are really fascinating and dramatic. Lovely place for honeymooners! English royals have known to take time out there too. 

The beach front has a lovely walk way and you can sit at tables overlooking the beach and sea, while you eat and drink what you have ordered from the nearest food shop. 

Eating out like that, is a very pleasant experience, especially on a happy sunny day. 

On this particular day I was there:

I wondered down, off the walkway, onto to the seashore and rocks. 

I was really enjoying the closing of the day and how the storm was slowly and silently building up. 

I took several photos, and this scene above is what I choose to paint. 

It may not have a huge dramatic wave breaking, but with the weather as it was, I felt the mood created its own appeal. 

What do you think?

Do you feel the mood of the storm brewing? 

Sort:  

Your painting of the sea and the rocks around the area looks beautiful and awesome , I just wonder how it will look like if am there physically to experience the beautiful nature of the surrounding and the cool breeze that will be coming out from the sea

Love the way you picture yourself there too.
I love exploring the seashore whenever we are down by the sea.

I must say what you choose to paint and how you paint it is really good

I must say what you
Choose to paint and how you paint
It is really good

                 - adedapo-glory


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Its been awhile Ma, this is indeed lovely..I admire the sea😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I have been around. Posting presently mostly on art tag.

In my opinion, capturing the moods and emotion of the ocean is probably one of the most difficult things to paint. I have tried it once and certainly didn't come a patch close to yours, so in answer - I would say yes you did a great job of it!

I have never been to Durban...

Part of the secret of making scenes moody, is to blur most of the scene, except for the main points of interest.

Really a very beautiful beach painting.

But what did you think of the sea and it's mood?

Beautiful picture, Ma'am. I love the sea.

Good post

Posted using Partiko Android

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a delayed resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Good post

Posted using Partiko Android

The scene must really be a great place

If you happen to want to know, it's "A novice on Steemit" not "novince."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05