Commissioned oil portrait "Swantje" (+ STEPS)

in #art6 years ago

preFinal.jpg

Hello Steemians,

today I'd like to share my procces of creating oil portrait. The size is 33x43 cm, support is Belgian oil primed linen, finest grain. It was a commission so likeness was one of the main concerns for me. That's why I was concentrated on preliminary drawing with raw umber more than I usually do while doing studies or sketches:

Day01_01.jpg

After I've reached some satisfaction with the likeness I left it to dry for a short time. When surface is dry enough I started to paint the first, block-in, layer, thinking mostly about big shapes and average colors:

Day01_02.jpg

My pallete for this painting was: Titanium White, Yellow Brown, Transparent Oxide Red, Sennellier Red, Permanent Alizarin, Raw Umber, Ultramarin Blue and Ivory Black

Day01_03.jpg

Gradually from top to the bottom I fill the shapes with appropriate complexion colors. This stage is most time consuming but I really enjoy it - you see how slowly something looking rather like a zombie reanimating on the canvas and starting to look more like someone alive

When the first level of the face is ready I suggest the background with broad strokes and leave it to dry. Here is the end of Day 1 stage:

Day01_04.jpg

Few days later I brought this portrait back to easel. First, I've realized that background is bothering me so I went further with it. When background was better for me I continued with the face - gently I was trying to refine as fine as possible forms and shapes. This day I spent less than one hour on this painting.

Day02.jpg

Final day - retouching, refinement and fiddling with background

Day03_01.jpg

After introducing some temperature shifts here and there and working more on the eyes it seems I can call it finished, or, at least pre-finished :) You never know... Will varnish and sign it in a few days, pack and send this portrait to client.

preFinal.jpg

Hope you dig it!

Sort:  

So inspiring! I'm right at the start of learning how to oil paint and I really enjoyed seeing how you took it from the very first stages of the underpainting all the way through to being finished. I think the biggest thing I learned from your post is how much detail it is possible to bring into that first colour layer when you're layering in the shapes... I think I need to be following your lead and seeing this step as bringing the "zombie to life" - and then using the following stages to refine smaller shapes and colours.

It's a truly beautiful portrait, and I bet your client must be thrilled. Thanks for such a great post, and I'm really looking forward to following more of your painting posts on here now that I found you by following Curie to your page (congratulations on the vote by the way!)
E x

Happy you have found this post helpful @eveningart ! From time to time I will try to make more comprehensive posts with focus on different aspects of painting process so stay tuned!

Marvelous
the lightning on the face is so soothing for the eyes...

Your art is just lovely, nice!

thank you, Paula!

Hi, congratz, you are now listed on the Steemians directory (https://www.steemiandir.com/) You can read more about this initiative here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@anonyvoter/new-selections-of-august-9-2018 If you like this project it would be great if you could resteem the post to make more people aware of it.
If you don’t want to be listed just leave me a comment and I will delete your profile from the website. Thank you very much for reading and I’m looking forward to your feedback!
PS: I’m NOT a bot so… I’m really looking forward to your feedback 😊

Thank you for listing me!

Pleasure mine!

among the piles of rubbish is really something worthwhile

very kind of you, thanks!!

Beautifully done and thank you for the progress pics. I opened them in the viewer to watch the progression. This was very interesting to see. Do you work from a photo for this? She surely looks realistic, so I am sure your client was happy. If she was wearing a feathered neckline, even better!

Congrats on your curie vote. This detailed post certainly deserves it.

Thank you! Yes, this painting was done from the photo I've done by myself. She was wearing rather mundane t-shirt, it's why I chose to alter the costume and made it up in loosely way.

Well, it is just beautiful and I wish I had a blouse like you imagined :)

Fabulous. Love the neck. You work so quickly! If you're not careful you'll become rich and well known. Thanks for showing the stages. Most helpful, especially the beginning.

Thanks mate, glad you find it helpful! :)

Hi arthurgain,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Cool, thanks!!

Really good work man!!!! Wonderful

Thank you, Caroline!!

Absolutely stunning, @arthurgain ! Your understanding on tone and colour and form produces an absolutely radiant portrait <3 An incredible painting <3 I love it !

Happy you liked it @veryspider! Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09