Westworld oil sketch in moleskine (+STEPS)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

bernard00.jpg

Have you ever questioned the nature of your reality?

After watching the 4th episode of Wesworld's new season I did this small oil sketch of Bernard in my moleskine. Love this character and that particular scene was truly fascinating. So here we go:

bernard01.jpg

I've done quick pencil drawing to solve the structure of the head and likeness on the page which was primed with simple white gesso.

bernard02.jpg

Sealed the drawing with acrylic medium, after did quick burnt umber wash to establish nice warm midtone which would help to get the skin tones nicely

While waiting for wash to dry I've decided to premix my basic piles of colors:

20180515_184559.jpg

Now it's time to paint. Started from the nose:

20180515_194237.jpg

As you can see area of the nose and muzzle has all the values and color tones so it's easy to nail all these things in the beginning.

20180515_195955.jpg

Continue to paint from the center, going back and forth

20180515_204106.jpg

Painting background and top of the head, when these parts are right and nice to finish this sketch is just a matter of time

20180515_210933.jpg

Close-up of almost finished painting

20180516_124846.jpg

In a couple of days it will dry and I will cover it with varnish to restate the richness of the colors and keep painting safe. I hope you dig it!

Sort:  

This is awesome @arthurgain! Nice temperature change from the light side to the shadow side too, looks rich :)

Thanks for showing the steps. Very helpful! The original pencil sketch is excellent!

thanks, glad it was helpful!

Fantastic! I am loving the series, myself, and Bernard is a really intriguing character. I like your choice to sketch/paint him with the dramatic under-lighting that they seem to light his scenes with fairly often.

They've definitely gone a lot darker with the writing this season, which I'm actually enjoying, but I feel like they are sort of dragging things out a bit much. What do you think of this season so far?

Thanks, Megan!

I love this season so far, it's maybe less innovative and twisted as first one but still very appealing. In my opinion Wesworld is a storytelling masterpiece, so intricate and complex, I am enjoiyng every bit of it. Getting darker is inevitable I believe since we are going to see how heroes turn into monsters and back which perfectly reflects our own relations with the worlds outside and inside of us.

aaaaaaaaaaaaah this is super nice * __ * you really nailed that look he has, a kind of worried but calm expression ... and the lighting is very nice and ambient~ so lovely~

upvotes and resteems

thanks a lot, I really appreciate it! And special thanks for curating this post in Steem Artists

You're very talented! Thanks for showing the process!
I want to take up oil painting. Maybe you could give some tips on using this medium in one of your articles. I bet it would be useful for a lot of aspiring artists here. 😊
Take care and keep creating!

thank you! I will share my humble expirience and my thoughts about oil painting, stay in touch and happy painting ;)

Firstly, don't you love sketching and playing in your journal?! i love this as well and you have done an amazing study here. I love it and am sharing. :)

thanks a lot for sharing, Donna! I love your work here on Steemit, keep it up!

Very nice oil rendering. I greatly enjoyed the series.

I like your work. You got a pretty nice style!

Thanks a lot!

That is really fantastic @arthurgain!

Ps. Thanks to @donnadavisart for the resteem which is how I spotted this.

WOW this is AMAZING! I haven't seen anything of the new season yet but I did love his character in the first!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14