DIGITAL ART - Collaboration with Mitch Leeuwe

in #art6 years ago

DIGITAL ART - Collaboration with Mitch Leeuwe

A while back fellow artist Mitch Leeuwe asked me if I wanted to do a collaboration, awesome!

Of course I was excited about the idea of doing a collaboration! His idea was that I would pick one of his characters and that I would color and paint it in my own style.

Mitch_collab.jpg

It was really tough to pick one of his characters, they are all so much fun!
I decided to go for this little Vampire/Bat guy and got to work on my iPad Pro in Procreate.

Mitch_collabsketch.jpg
Original drawing by Mitch Leeuwe

For this painting I decided to start out in black and white, working on the lighting first. This way I wouldn't get distracted by colors.

Mitch_collab1.jpg

Once I had 'sculpted' the body, I started working on the background, establishing a simple composition.

Mitch_collab2.jpg

Once I was happy with the overall lighting, I started adding color. I did this by adding color and overlay layers. As soon as I was happy with the colors, I merged everything so I could easily blend colors (in Procreate you can only blend colors of the layer you're working on).

Mitch_collab3.jpg

Finally I started working on details and tweaking stuff. It's hard to decide when a piece is finished and I believe I could keep working on this guy for hours, but this is where I took it. I hope you like it!

Be sure to visit Mitch's Instagram (I'm trying to convince him to join Steemit ;)) and check out his other work, it's awesome!

Mitch_collab.jpg

footer.jpg

Sort:  

adoooooooorrrable <3 love the expression and the gooooogggily eyes <3 so so so cute~ the colours are so happy and vibrant <3 !!!

upvotes

Thank you so much! He makes me happy too ;)

That little fuzzy purple creature is beyond adorable! It's both a nice finish and a cool concept to start with, now I feel like starting sketching a bit :)

Thanks! And you should! Sketching is so much fun and so relaxing :D

Nicely coloured, Flo! I think your colour enhances its personality, makes this bat really adorable looking.

-upvoted-

Thank you! Lovely to hear that you like it :)

this is the cuttest!!! seriously. Loved it. Great work

Thank you so much, that is wonderful to hear

fun piece - I seen it on discord - cheers and a upvote!

Thank you! Glad you like it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78