Quick Mini Canvas Challenge

in #art6 years ago


Post It. I Dare You!


Those of you who have been following me a while will know that I believe it's hard to judge what is good/bad in our own creations as it's so subjective. And it can change depending on our mood. So the best thing to do is show it to the world and not take it too personally.

I've posted a couple of mixed pieces containing the words "Put It Out and Let the World Decide" to reflect this and today it's time to walk the talk.

Yellow Abstract 5.jpg

I've been dragging my feet about getting stuck into some creative stuff but today I finally made it into the attic (where my play stuff is).

For the first couple of hours I was hanging out on Steemit, putting off picking up a pen, pencil or paintbrush. When I found myself looking for a photo for the yellow challenge I just thought b*****r it just go for it. So I did and the painting above is what resulted although I'm not particularly keen oh how it turned out but I am proud of myself for posting it despite that.

Here is how it started out. An old canvas that I had been using to clean my brushes on.

Yellow Abstract 1.jpg

Next I covered it with lemon paint, scraped on some yellow ochre with a credit card and dabbed on some cadmium yellow. Then I went back to Steemit while I waited for it to dry.

Then I ran out of inspiration so I looked around and decided to chuck on some stamens from some lillies I had for my birthday. 😁

Yellow Abstract 4.jpg

Then I forgot to keep taking photos.

But before I ended up with the final piece I dragged the stamens around so the pollen stuck to the lumpy bits and shoved them all in the bottom right hand corner.

I took some string and dipped it in a tube of crimson paint and stuck it across the top and right hand side.

Then I went back to Steemit.

Clean out of ideas again I made up my mind to just get it done, found the white flower and the broken jewellery and stuck them on. And, et viola my yellow challenge is done!

Phew! Despite my thoughts about it was fun to make and that's the most important thing. 😁

Previously posted on the account @gillianpearce

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Like Something Your See Here?

Most art posted is for sale - crypto or fiat.
Please leave a message here or on Discord if you would like to know more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66