The Last Rays On The Back Bay

in #art5 years ago

Lots Of Things Going Wrong ..

The last couple of weeks had made in near impossible to find inspiration to create, post, share, and support. I still managed to get on here and there to support those dear to me. I see some rough times ahead, but plan on trying to find the time and the the ability to feel good enough to be in the mix.

It's Time For Summer ..

To rear its head and give us some much anticipated warmth. Along with the longer days and warmer weather, I look forward to spending some beautiful summer nights at the beach. Since I live on the East coast of New Jersey, the sun sets to our West ( haha..strange right? ).. What I am trying to say is that it sets over the bay, not over the ocean. This is quite alright, because the still waters and soft grass make for an incredible foreground to natures painting. At the end of those long days comes a setting sun. She dips below the horizon, just beyond the tidal waters of the back bay. Before she slips away from our sight, she throws out the last rays of the day, like a colorful wave goodnight.

My Most Recent Painting, 'Last Rays On The Back Bay' ..

Last Rays On The Back Bay - Finished.jpg

This Is Where The Inspiration Is Coming From ..

The last rays of sun at the end of a long summers day. So with my memory of the salty breeze and the smell of marshy grass blowing around in it, I am filled with inspiration to paint! I may be able to decrease the time needed for summer to arrive by painting this scene that rests in my mind.. but I am doubtful. Nature has a way of arriving precisely when it plans to. I painted this scene from my memories, but I do have a few photos of the beach and a back bay sunset.

IMG_0459.JPG

The sun setting over Ludlam Bay


305111.JPG

The beach off the coast of Ocean City NJ. You can see a few surfers out there, but the water is still very much cold. Mid to upper 40's F. Brrrrrrrr!!


307111.JPG

A look down the beach. No vacationers here yet. In another 4 weeks or so, this will look quite different!


Pups in OC.jpg

I can't forget about the doggos!

Yup, they came too. Pepper doesn't mind the sand, but Molly is still not sure about the noises of the birds, of the crashing ocean waves and the way that the sand blows at her face. She spends more time in our arms than on the ground :-)


Enough Of The Beach ..

Lets get to this painting. I painted it on a 5.5" x 7.5" piece of watercolor paper using oil paints. Color and tonal choices for this one where Titanium White, French Ultramarine, Permanent Rose, Dioxazine Purple, and a touch of Permanent Green Light. I utilized my index finger to paint most of the scene then a small brush to add a few finer details. I began as always, by placing my horizon line about 1/4 of the way up, then worked first on the sky. I slowly built color into the clouds until I was happy with the shades displayed. After I layered in the foreground and a hint of water, I didn't like the color of the sky. I added a lot more blue and purple to it in order to create balance. Something was just off in my eyes. In the final stages, I added a few touches of Titanium White in the attempt to show a little reflected light off the water and grass.

The Materials ..

Minus the Permanent Light Green ;-)
IMG_1093.JPG

Here Are The Progress Pictures ..

IMG_1094.JPG

IMG_1095.JPG

IMG_1096.JPG

IMG_1098.JPG

IMG_1103.JPG

IMG_1104.JPG

IMG_1120.JPG

IMG_1121.JPG

Last Rays On The Back Bay - Finished.jpg

The Combined Pic For Easy Viewing ..

LastRaysonthebackbayprogressionpic.jpg

All In All ..

It turned out to be a nice little painting. Nothing real spectacular, but a creation from the heart none the less. It's going to be a good summer.. I just know it!!!

<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~>

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.


About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

.................................

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

PHC and C2 tag.png

Sort:  

Your inspiration is beautiful
The picture... I really like the colours
Enjoyed the walk through from start to finsih
Thank you for sharing :D

Wishing you all the best with your coming days <33

Thank you @kaerpediem :-) Glad you found it interesting. I am feeling better and just being in a happier mood helps too.

That's good to know
<33

Beautiful painting, and cute dogs :)

Well, you somehow let summer came into your room by just drawing this, so... Yeah :D

Posted using Partiko Android

:-D thank you for the confidence booster! So happy you like it.

Look at what you get to wake up to every day ♥ Nothing heals like the ocean. Your work & words are beautiful...thank you for sharing.

Thanks! I am blessed and cursed. When I’m not working and can enjoy the beach, I am blessed. When I have to work and just have to watch others enjoy the beach, I am cursed. Lol. Glad you like the painting too! I appreciate the kindness and support.

Thank you bdmillergallery! You've just received an upvote of 37% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts



Please come visit me to see my latest report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting. Also, come read my latest report to learn about SteemAX! There's now a video tutorial avaiable for you to learn how to use SteemAX to generate more upvotes and gain more followers! If you like @ArtTurtle then you'll LOVE this!

Going to the beach with the dogsofsteemit
Love it

I'm not sure they enjoyed it as much as we did.. but they always like getting out and about. :-D

If we take out our gordons to the beach they run so much its takes them a day to recover

Yea.. they are very active dogs. Our dogs are 13 and 11. The one has Addison's Disease and gets tired fast. So we carried her most of the way. lol.

I spent 9 months in Bradley Beach and would walk every day on the beach. Your paintings are nice...

Cool! yea, that's near Asbury Park if I am not mistaken. We make it up to long island every once in a blue moon. I like it up there too. Thanks for the compliment!!

Soory to hear things were kind of wrong lalety, but I'm sure you'll manage it out. You are an amazing artist with a lot of internal power. I truta in that :3 and I really like the painting, the lights are really cute

Posted using Partiko Android

Aweee Thanks @zaidagrilli :-) I appreciate the boost in my confidence your words helped with. I can tell you speak from the heart. Thank you for the compliments too. It was a fun little painting. Nothing too special, but fun.

Wow! Artists have the knack to see the beauty that many others don't. The beach photos are also great and I hope this post gets many upvotes!
Blessings!

Thanks! I like to think I have that Knack for seeing things artistically, If not, Oh Well.. I'm having fun anyhow! lol. Thanks for the support and kind words :-)

I love the step by step pictures of the drawing process. But it is not always possible to make it))) So, I appreciate when the artist has time to do it.

Yea.. your not kidding! Step by Steps take a lot of time. Sometimes I don't have the time or am not feeling well enough to post. Either way, I am glad you like them :-D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared, the curation team and curation trail!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87