Pour Day Friday

in #art5 years ago

Adobe_Post_20190712_222357.png

Bolstered by Thursday's pour session and having woken up unusually early on Friday I decided to get a few things done while I had the energy.

Laundry, gathering and cleaning up paint supplies for bub's room and prepping canvases were on top of my priority list.

I did want to pour yesterday, I was thinking a couple of canvases should do but got a bit carried away and before I knew it I had 4 canvases prepped on my table 😱😱😱

20190712_112648.jpg

Lucky for me Hubby got me new paint colours and more Floetrol yesterday so I had plenty of supplies for what was shaping up to be a huge pour day.

1 of 4

I never really know how my pours will go. Some days I've felt really good and positive and they turned out crap so I figured I'd start small and go with the smallest canvas which is 10cm x 10cm.

20190712_220903.jpg

Colours used: Dark blue, Mauve, Teal, Coral, Yellow, Pink, Gold, Metallic Teal, White
Method: Dutch Pour
Materials: Heat gun, Hair dryer, No silicone

Straight up, I was shocked at how well it turned out. Love, love, loved it!

20190712_222120.jpg

2 of 4

Seeing that the firs canvas went well, I figured why not push my luck and keep going. Hell, while I'm pushing my luck, might as well go with a round canvas.

20190712_221214.jpg

Colours used: Dark blue, Mauve, Teal, Coral, Yellow, Pink, Gold, Metallic Teal, White
Method: Dutch Pour
Materials: Heat gun, Hair dryer, No silicone

This one is giving me a bit of a sea vibe. I did want more white (negative space) but I didn't want to fiddle around with it too much. Still though, I'm quite happy with it.

20190712_222034.jpg

3 of 4

By the time I got to this canvas I figured I'm on a roll and I need to take advantage of it lol

Love this one! It reminds me of a dragon :) Really happy with how it turned out first go and she was done.

20190712_221501.jpg

Colours used: Dark blue, Mauve, Teal, Coral, Yellow, Pink, Gold, Metallic Teal, White
Method: Dutch Pour
Materials: Heat gun, Hair dryer, No silicone

20190712_221941.jpg

4 of 4

Now this last one.... Lawdy this last one..

Either my luck was running out or fatigue was setting in but it took me 3 (or was it 4?) goes before I was happy with the result.

First try

Gross 🤢. See how the colours have mixed to a brownish sludge? 🤮

I knew exactly where I went wrong too.

20190712_221611.jpg

Last try

A couple more scrapes that went undocumented before I got this and even then I threw more paint on the canvas after the hair dryer hit it.

Seriously, this larger canvas was harder to work with than I imagined but I got there in the end.

20190712_221749.jpg

Colours used: Dark blue, Mauve, Teal, Coral, Yellow, Pink, Gold, Metallic Teal, White
Method: Dutch Pour
Materials: Heat gun, Hair dryer, No silicone

There's a chunk of negative space at the top left but I figured I can maybe draw a mandala or add crystals or something to fill the space in?

20190712_221859.jpg


My biggest concern right now is the drying part. Aside from the small canvas the rest are still wet and I'm worried there's too much paint on them. If there is, they might crack 😭 I'm hoping they'll be fine 🙏🤞🙏

More painting for me today though nothing quite as exciting as acrylic pouring since I'll be painting bub's feature wall and probably furniture.

But at least bub's room should be set up and ready this weekend! Kinda excited about that!

Hope ya'll have a great weekend!

Sort:  

Oh wow you did have a good day, those look amazing! O_O

Thanks love!! Yeh friday was a good day!! :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow. That is so cool.
I want to try that. It looks like so much fun and it looks so beautiful.

I guess it is sort of like a surprise, since you don't really know what to expect at the end of your project.

Love it.

Thank you!! You should give it a go! I really think a lot of it is luck based and it's fun when its working out but I find it stressful when it's not lol. I will say its very satisfying when it does turn out well :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Looking great. Is bub going to get one of these fancy pieces of art in her room?

Thanks honey. Nope these arent for bub's room. They'll most probably end up on my etsy page once the varnish is on :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @bearone!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.654 which ranks you at #1753 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 199 places in the last three days (old rank 1554).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 129 contributions, your post is ranked at #36.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @bearone!

You just got a 0.04% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11