BEASTLY TALES - THE FORLORN LEPRECHAUN

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Beastly Tales. Each has a message, a moral. All are meant to have an element of humour. Naturally, any names included do not depict real folk but are included as part of the joke.

All rights reserved.
(As with Beastly Banter Beastly Tales is written and illustrated by Richard Hersel.)

Thank you for your following.
Richard Hersel


BEASTLY TALES

THE FORLORN LEPRECHAUN

There was a young man from Kilarny,
Who was fond of speaking the blarney.
He would cajole and persuade by flattery,
Never tiring, as though run by battery.
Seamus O’Rourke, for that was his name,
Would smooth things over, sidestepping the blame.
“’Tis best to be on top o’things,” he loved to say,
“Top O’ the morning. Top O’ the day!”
He favoured, “on top O’” with Katy McGee,
A fair colleen from County Kilgee.

But Katy McGee would not give him time of the day.
Despising him thoroughly, his condescending way.
Said O’Rourke, “I’m sure I don’t know what the problem can be?”
“I know I’m a bit wild now, so fancy free.”
“If one decides I’m not for her, a real Kiljoy!”
“She can go and find another Irish boy.”
“I’ll be off to Kilarney, to be sure.”
“Kilmegan, Kilpatrick, Kilmorgan, Kilgure.”
“At Kilcoburn, I’ll kill some time,”
“Strutting my stuff, playing pantomime!”
“Perfectly sober, as one comes and goes.”
“If you don’t want to be a clown, don’t wear a red nose.”

O’Rourke was walking towards Tipperary,
Not too far from Kilkenny, he saw a wee fairy,
Or, at least, he thought he had, quite scary!
But it transpired to be a leprechaun,
Sitting by a bridge, looking forlorn.
“Top O’ the day to you, little old man!”
Seamus O’Rourke was a leprechaun fan.
“I’m off to a public house, I am thinking,”
“It’s certainly the hour to be drinking.”
They don’t let me drink, they say I’m pint-sized.
So said the leprechaun, looking surprised.
“What a shock, for you to be having there.”
“If you went to a Pub, would people start to stare?”
As I haul myself up, onto the bar stool,
They look at me as though I’m a bit of a fool.
But it is THEY who are foolish indeed,
To deny a leprechaun who has such a need!
A thirst to slake, just like theirs, don’t you know,
Guinness is the drink, that could help me to grow.
There are not so many of us left today.
And those who are left, don’t get any pay.
But what about you, me lad?
Why do you look so sad?

“’Tis the fact that my girl has turned her back,”
“’pon me, that now I am a sad sack.”
“I thought, perhaps, as I’m Tipperary bound.”
“That a new lass, very pretty, can be found.”
And so, they each one, bid Adieu,
Their own agendas to pursue.

forlorn leprechaurn.png

Sort:  

yes it is very truly said and according to me we should always look eagle in the sky but not grow because if we want to be successful in the life then we have to fly high as much as eagle flies.

Congratulations @beastlybanter! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Brilliant!😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99