BEASTLY TALES - THE SCORPION

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Beastly Tales. Each has a message, a moral. All are meant to have an element of humour. Naturally, any names included do not depict real folk but are included as part of the joke.

All rights reserved.
(As with Beastly Banter Beastly Tales is written and illustrated by Richard Hersel.)

Thank you for your following.
Richard Hersel


BEASTLY TALES

THE SCORPION


A most terrible tale to bring,
A really revolting, sinister thing.
It’s armoured skin is rather black,
With scaly plates along it’s back.
See it’s murderous sinister face,
It’s wicked eyes, its lack of grace.
Stingers held high, up over their heads,
Be most wary when rising from beds,
For to stand on a scorpion in dead of night,
Produces a painfully searing bite.
With claws to the fore and sting to the rear,
It’s definitely unwise to go anywhere near,
To such fearsome, frightening creatures,
Seemingly devoid of redeeming features,
Recall, if you reside in tropical climes,
To shake out your shoes and boots at all times.
For to thrust in your feet to that boot or shoe,
To find a scorpion as tenant, with rent overdue.
Could lead to a painful, distressing meeting,
That could have you scampering, crying and bleating.


Little Johnny; “Mummy, look what I’ve found”,
“It was just walking upon the ground”.
“Is it a beetle, with a long tail?”
“Here, I’ve put it into this pail”.
Mummy screamed, and said with force,
“It’s not a beetle, but much, much worse”.
“It’s a scorpion, oh, what a fright”,
“Johnny, please tell me that you’re alright!”
Johnny looked up with a cheeky smile,
“Mummy, why are scorpions considered so vile?”
“It seems to have a demeanour most kind”,
“And leaves me no scary images in mind”.
Mummy said, in return, “What nonsense child!”
“Just looking at it, I feel defiled”.

“But, Mummy, I remember just what you said”,
“And I’d never put one in your bed”,
“No this is something I would never do”,
“So I’ve really placed in your bed, two!”
At this Mummy did fly off the handle,
She was going to bed, holding a candle.
“What a wicked, wicked thing to do”,
“You can now go and sit in the loo”,
“Until you learn to behave yourself”.
“And stop doing such things by stealth”.
“Yes, I know what you are saying, Mummy”,
“Do you think that Daddy might like to get chummy”.
“With scorpions that will, without fail”,
“Lash out, with venom, with their scorpion tail”.
“The reason that I think I should know”,
“Is that into his bed, more scorpions I did throw!”

scorpion.png

Sort:  

The best part : “But, Mummy, I remember just what you said”,
“And I’d never put one in your bed”,
“No this is something I would never do”,
“So I’ve really placed in your bed, two!” - Good child.

bitten scorpion most sick.better do not sleep ha ha ha.very interesting poems are very comforted. Thanks @beastlybanter.

“It’s not a beetle, but much, much worse”. They pack a powerful punch.

You really portray it well through mental picture you painted #imagery, scorpion is known for deadly for it poison bite. I enjoyed it and the picture matched if very well

Quite an introduction you gave for the scorpion. Like welcoming it to the stage. Only it wouldn't be getting an ovation but boos and curses. My brother was stung years ago by this venomous arachnid. The picture of him groaning in pain is still vivid in my mind.

"Is it a beetle, with a long tail?" That is really funny.

Such a great poem. The story line is greately illustrated and is very vivid. Great job with the rhymes. This was the fisrt thing I read this morning whilst having my coffee: it was such a nice little surprise to discover it!
I wrote a poem as well recently, feel free to check it out :) https://steemit.com/poem/@francescap1995/smoke-and-mirrors

Never mess around a Scorpion, it can be deadly, Nice and funny poem.bravo

who is richard ? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99