Folco’s Birth – Page 09 and 10steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Hello, People !

Hear ye, hear ye!

Here are the next couple of pages of Folco Coregliano's story !



 
But before : some personal boring thoughts (No, you can't skip that... No... Hey ! Don't even... :D )

I've met some difficulties here.

I wanted to place more active dialog, but been stuck by the lack of context already presented. Either I had to bring massive blocks of texts explaining unseen elements, or taking some time depicting them.

And here comes that old frustrating impatience ! You know that one that makes you speak faster when you aim at finishing you sentence. That impatience that'd want to push myself at using the wrong shortcut just for reaching the end of our little story.

So... Let's calm down, let's take a breath... And let's take our time :D

At the moment I had to start these two pages, I realized I didn't have myself a clear vision of the world in which the story happens. As a consequence, it would be hard for any reader to guess what I'd want to tell...

That's the moment I understand how storytellers, through any medium they may favor, have the responsibility to project themselves into a reader if they want to transmit their word.

It looks like I'll have to give some love to these details of my universe I can't depict for myself, and find a way to inject this without breaking the main rythme.

Some rules seam to appear and guide that initially spontaneous creative (non-)process... Which is Interesting (for myself, at least) :)


Ok !

Now, either you've skipped the text above, or regret that you didn't skip it...
...here coooome the pages 9 and 10 !
(I didn't expect a two-digits number when I started this o.O)
(What ? Oh... Ok, I shut up...)

Previously in Folco's Birth :

Pages 01-02

Pages 03-04

Pages 05-06

Pages 07-08


PAGE 09




PAGE 10




That's all for today, Ladies and Gents !

Have a nice day, have tons of fun, and take care !

See you next time ;)

<

(c) Berien 2018


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://berien.com/blog/folcos-birth-page-09-and-10/

Sort:  

Making a comic is always difficult, there are many things to juggle and there's not enough time and effort to make a perfect page. Despite that, I enjoy looking at your comic, so please charge forward with whichever decision you decide :).

That's a fun experience although I've never liked working under short timing or liked working on illustration or figurative stuff.

The abstraction level is high enough here to satisfy my taste for randomness and get a touch with the different aspect that have to be dealt with. That's that part of learning I like here, more than the possible result - either failure or success :)

Anyways : thanks, @scrawly for the comment :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Yep, comicking is a multi-discipline LABOUR

It requires drawing and of course WRITING, but it doesn't stop there, it also require DIRECTING!!!

How to unveil an event, how much text should go in each panel, how to frame the panels, and so on !!!

You are doing great though :D I like the pages so far, and these two are cool, also ! We get to know who Samson is !!!

Thanks @veryspider ;)

Agreed on the directing aspect.

It's something I've started to feel as soon as that conversation between characters has begun. Who's the focus ? how to focus ? etc.

Even if I've chosen not to use very conventional comics boxes and layouts, it's obvious there's some knowledge to gather on the topic.

If I get enough practical info to share I'll try to write some guide after the end of this little experimental comic :)

I think that will be an awesome post, a guide ! :D :D :D

Hi, @berien!

You just got a 0.25% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02