(howto) Transferring a paper-printed image to another support.

in #art6 years ago

Hello !

Today, always in my attempts to get oldish and used visual effects, I'd want to share a conceptual approach a bit different from what I usually do: trying to transfer a paper-printed image to a MDF panel. in order to rework it with traditional tools.

The method involves acrylic binder, a printed image, and any support you'd like to transfer the image on (canvas, wooden panel), as long as it can take some punishment, as you'll see in video :)

snap (2).jpg

Print is fixed on the support by the binder which captures the pigment once dry. Using water, the paper is destroyed by scraping process.

For this test I made a few mistakes, been a bit clumsy, and didn't make the best choice of illustration (a little too dark), but the experience gave me some ideas for future applications.

Maybe this will give you some too :)

Thanks for reading and watching :)

Have a nice day !

Credits :
Music proposed by La Musique Libre
Nicolai Heidlas - Classic Ride - http s://youtu.be/4VkuY6NGQfg
Nicolai Heidlas https://soundcloud.com/nicolai-heidlas
(Printed Illustration: (c)berien)

Sort:  

That is quite a technique indeed. I didn't know that such thing is possible. Very interesting.
                           
Thanks for showing us how to transfer artworks and congratulations for your curie vote ^_^.

Thanks @scrawly :)

Funny enough, that's a common phenomemon I've already seen hundred of times before finding out I could use it voluntarily... Very often we get content of our mailboxes, like advertisement leaflets, transfered after their paper get glued between them due to humidity.

It was so freakin obvious that it took me years to notice how great this was :D

I always wonder what else I miss around myself that could be so simply genius.

That is so true :O.
                       
I guess lots of things happen and we don't actually think about them, but I am glad that you do because this is one method that I might try to do for my digital works ^_^.

I've tried it too with small sketches made with ball pen and got some interesting results : less pen strokes visible, ink and lines are like softened.
That implies destroying the original drawing, though :)

Indeed. That would be quite a shame especially if the original one is something you are proud of.
                       
A digital print is much safer to experiment with :D.

Well I guees that could be useful in case of a decent drawing wich paper would be damaged or stained. That Could give it a second life on a new support :)

Ok, it would be inverted, but don't we say "See you on the other side" ? :D

Hi berien,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow ! Thanks a lot ! :D

What a technique! I didn't know that was possible. Is it some kind of a special paper or can it be done with a normal one? It looks like you need a lot of patience to finish something like that, but it's anyway a great idea as you can transfer images that you maybe wouldn't be comfortable painting. Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote!

Thanks a lot @delishtreats :)

In this case, it's only 80g standard paper you'd use for any home printers. I think the lighter, the easier it would be to remove, but not sure if the weight could affect the print durability during the destruction process.

I also used very fine rice paper once (can't remember the exact name) and obtained nice result due to the paper's reaction with acrylic binder : it went transparent only letting the print appear naturally without any destruction involved :)

Difference between inkjet and laser printing might occur too. Not sure how the binder would react with inkjet colours.

Thank you for that video, wonderful result and it is good to know your opinion while your work, thank you for given the advices too. The method reminds me Decoupage, that is something quite popular to decorate for example old wooden furniture to give another look or just some wooden surface to make more colorful. I love that method and you have done it very well!

Thank you for the detailed comment : always good to know what's appreciated in the job done :)

I didn't know the technique had a specific name (and shame on me, it's obviously a french word :D )
Thanks for this info : I'll check if I can gather more knowledge about this way to work :)

Have a nice day ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77