Original To Displate : The Original One.

in #art5 years ago (edited)


Hello People !

Today, I'd want to present (again) this piece, which is at the same time a new digitally reworked one and an "old" original one (2017)

It's only a small drawing, less than 18cm on its largest side, but it has a really great symbolic importance for myself, as it has initiated my will to explore these weird graphite drawn structures that I'm now used to work on.

It's the original one... The Artifact 0...

The One that made me discover the range of possibilities offered by graphite drawing, wood, and gesso combination. It made me discover the power of straight lines playing with spirals and circles' tangents.

It made thrill out when applying shades above these raw structures.

I wanted to make a Displate out of this one, but couldn't figure out how to do it, kind of afraid to make too much or not enough.

I finally opted for simplicity, and for this, used my favorite graphic software : Art Rage.


ART RAGE

Aiming at simplicity in the final result didn't mean that I wouldn't search for new little things to learn, and so I went into these menus I've never used yet.

For those who don't know about this software, Art Rage is a natural painting tool, with a minimalist interface where most of settings are quickly reachable with your graphic pen. Colors mixing and matter texture are rendered on the fly.


Menu navigation is limited at its bare minimum, although there are some very powerful tools in these menus, one of which I had completely ignored until then : the "layer effects"

I won't enter in specific details, so let's say that this function gives a standard layer some thickness that you can "engrave" and get some interesting texture effects.





That's the kind of tools I find useful when working on these conversion projects, as my main intend is to preserve an handmade aspect even if it's reworked digitally. I haven't tested fully the function and its possible applications, but it will be for sure one of my usual tools for this kind of work.

Everything that gives texture and grain is interesting in these cases. That's a domain in which I already did find Art Rage great, but with this specific Layer Effects function, it has reached a new level up.

Final result

Here's the original to displate comparison :

For those who'd wondered, displates are printed posters on metal support.

I'm slowly building a collection there, on displate.com (affiliated link), but there are also plenty of great artists and creators doing so, from which you might want to discover the work.


I think I've covered most of what I wanted to talk about. Unfortunately, I didn't record the creation process this time, so that video about creation with ArtRage will be postponed for another time !

That's all for today, ladies and gentlemen !

Many thanks for your time and support,

Have fun and take care !

Berien.



Wanna help ? :) You're welcome !
* As a BAT publisher, my BLOG accepts any BAT tips.
* Brave Browser may be installed via this affiliated link.

And Guess what ?

* I'm also a BitTube user... If you want to see your online time passively monetized with crypto, and effortless support your favorite content editors, you may want to install the bittubeapp (yes, that's also an affiliated link :D )

Many thanks for people who already did it, this helped a lot, and same for those of you who will :)



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://berien.com/techniques-mixtes/original-to-displate-the-original-one/

Sort:  

I should check out displate one of these days, shouldnt I :)

I think you converted the original Artefact 0 into the displate format pretty nicely, Pascal :) The converted result has a bit of a grunge feel to it, maybe because of the sepia tones... I like both the original and the displate version :D

Thanks Miss eight-legged thingy ! :D

You're welcome to visit the displates place :D
I still feel clumsy when working on these conversions, but that's some more interesting experimentations and knowledge to gather on the way, so all good :)

Anyways : Have a sweet and nice day ;)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.

Hmmmm, cake ! :D
Thanks a lot, your support is much appreciated :)

Congratulations @berien! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you ! Appreciated :)

Hi, @berien!

You just got a 0.18% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Good drawing it looks like an ancient mechanical device of some sort, nice work.

I like to imagine these could be some kind of useful tools in universes where... well... In universes where anything useless could be useful :D

Thanks for the comment Mr guitarist and singer @forester-joe :)

I like these very much, keep up the good work my be I will be able to purchase one oneday

Thanks mate, appreciated :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34