The Rooted Ones / Les Enracinés - WIP 2

in #art5 years ago (edited)

EN

Hello ! 

Here's the next part of our sort-of-a-diptych :)

I spent some time trying to figure out a nice way to frame these two small panels together. What's follow is a placeholder, waiting for my skills to become better at making something... well... better. :D

I didn't have great expectations in my ability to build something perfect, so I took this occasion as it was : like an empirical learning experience, involving foamboard, cardboard, cutters, glue, and Gesso...

FR

Bonjour !

Voici la suite de notre espèce de diptyque:)

J'ai passé un peu de temps à essayer de trouver une belle façon d'encadrer ces deux petits panneaux ensemble. Finalement, ce qui suit est un bouche-trou, en attendant que mes compétences s'améliorent pour faire quelque chose... heu... d'amélioré :D

Je n'avais pas de grandes attentes quant à ma capacité à construire quelque chose de parfait, alors j'ai profité de cette occasion pour en tirer quelques apprentissages, à la bonne vieille méthode empirique, le tout impliquant du carton, des cutters, de la colle, et du Gesso...
 


EN
As far as I could remember, I've always disliked this kind of work... You know : cutting,gluing,measuring.

Now, I know that's still the case.

I'll probably try later to make some more solid version, out of fiberboard or wood, but I have the feeling that other small panels might come and complete the painting. So I prefer to stick with this foamboard "prototype" : easy to cut, patch and fix.

Meanwhile, I also worked on the graphite drawing, adding colors with ultra wet and translucent acrylic washes. I think I'll make a few adjustments on its neighbor, which seems a bit flat in comparison.

FR


Aussi loin que je me souvienne, j'ai toujours détesté ce genre de choses... Vous savez : couper, coller, mesurer.

Maintenant, je sais que c'est toujours le cas.

J'essaierai probablement plus tard d'en faire une version plus solide, en panneau de fibres ou en bois, mais j'ai le sentiment que d'autres petits panneaux pourraient bien venir compléter le tableau. Je préfère donc m'en tenir à ce "prototype" de carton mousse : facile à couper, à rapiécer et à fixer.

Pendant ce temps, j'ai aussi travaillé sur le dessin au graphite, en ajoutant des couleurs avec des lavis acryliques ultra humides et translucides. Je pense que je vais faire quelques ajustements sur son voisin, ce qui semble un peu plat en comparaison.

 



EN
 Here's the latest step.
A bunch of other ones will follow, but next post about this painting will directly show the finalized one.
FR
 Voici l'étape actuelle.
Un tas d'autres suivront, mais le prochain post sur ce sujet  post sera directement consacré à la version finalisée.
  


I wanted to thank once more all people from steemit who commented the previous part.

Suggestions and points of view have been sources of ideas and inspiration.

Some special thanks though :

@macoolette who made me try some colors on the latest steps  I wouldn't have tried without her comment.

@delishtreats who has comforted that feeling I had that this could be extended with even more other drawings.

@delishtreats (again :p ); @cubapl and @ronel who made me put words on the idea behind the drawing.

 

Tons of thanks to @veryspider and @scrawly and every people in @curie for their dedication to other members of Steemit community.

And thanks to all other people I won't name because that post must have an end :p



Have a nice day, Ladies and Gentlemen, Guys and Gals, or any title you'd like to be referred as :D

Take care ;)

Berien

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://berien.com/techniques-mixtes/the-rooted-ones-les-enracines-wip-2/
Sort:  

Love this post so much, Pascal :) I am so glad to see the two pieces enshrined now in this framing work <3 I think they are perfectly at home :D

And I am also super glad to see you finding your feet better at Steemit <3

<3 <3 <3 <3 <3

Once more : thanks a lot, Miss Liske ! :)

I'm flattered that you mentioned me. And even twice! :)

I like that you put some colors in there. It looks great! It adds more character to the drawing. And I LOVE the frame! It looks rustic but it has your personal touch and this is what I love about it :)

Thank you for sharing my friend!

When working on spontaneous drawings, I think it's important to remember what has contributed to build it.

It' would be so easy to think "I did it all by myself" and to exclude all external influences that helped building the result, or neglect their impact on what's coming next :)

In a way, you and also all other people that are actively influencing my work, are definitely co-creators of this :)

Damn slow-thinking mind ! I should have typed this in the main post ! :D

Anyways : thanks again ;)

I like hearing that I am a co-creator of such a great art work :D But you are right.. motivation and encouragement are very important in the life of an artist :)

It looks even better in colours and framed together. Nicely done, Berien :D.
                       
The frame is very nice, it is quite amazing that you created everything by yourself ^_^.

Thanks @Scrawly :)
Always interesting to work on stuff we're not used to do.
I'm glad I didn't try with wooden materials at first, that would have been a great failure ! :D

This frame looks amazing, I love the structure. And from the beginning I've seen a kind little dragon in the right one, lifting his hand shyly for a greeting. And I really like the left one with it's strange feather plant :)

Thanks, @patschowrk :)

Glad you like it :)

While I'm still working on both frame and panels, I start to think in which way I could expand the thing... That place asks for some more exploration :)

Not fixed on that point yet, but I think that will be by the top part.
Anyways, I'll let the last-moment feeling decide :)

Have a nice day ;)

Congratulations @berien! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

That is cool. It indeed looks much colorful now. Thank you for considering my suggestion. 😊

You're making great progress. Keep it up! 😊

You're welcome. 😊


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you ! :)

Hi, @berien!

You just got a 0.27% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @berien! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 comments. Your next target is to reach 700 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10