Wandering in Imaginary Lands [part 1] / Improvised drawings and a short story to link them all.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Connection... Online

Check...

Hello !

First : apologizing for the lack of online activity these last weeks.
Some computer illness, commonly know as a Failed Windows Update, that had to be treated with extreme Linux medication, prevented any productive use of technology during these days.

One good thing with this kind of messy times : my will to get away from them didn't last long before showing up... I usually see this personal trend to evade responsibilities as something rather nasty, but sometimes, this old poisonous friend shows itself as a good fellow.

That's why I'll give that part of myself a bit of independent personality and the ability to bring us in short improvised story. (disclaimer : English isn't my native language, therefore I apologize for any language mistake that could survive to my different correction attempts ;) )

So... That good old Will-To-Evade-Reality and I took a short walk again in Imaginary lands.

Last time we went there, we found an unusual place : a place where there were none of the mechanical structures I'm used to find, but only a nude twisted tree. (see : The Yellowish Twisted Woodsman).

The eventuality that other weird trees specimens could grow in these parts of Imaginary Lands made me curious... Will-to-Evade (let's call it like that) followed with some enthusiasm and we let my graphite pen wander there again for a while...

It didn't take long before graphite strokes made the thing twist out of the blank wooden tablet.

Twisted 02

Was it a tree or some aggregated roots, maybe some other kind of creature ?

I couldn't say, but the thing was looking like it was trying to show me a direction... Even if it wasn't the prettiest being I've ever met in Imaginary Lands, I couldn't feel any form of fear nor danger emanating from it.

Without a word, we left it there.

Will-To-Evade made me follow the indicated way on which we met the Yellowish Twisted Woodman, still frozen in its eternal tortured stance. Like its rooted cousin, no luck at trying to have a talk. Imaginary Lands make trees look strange, but don't make them be great speakers.


TwitedTrees_Neighbors.JPG

Though a bit confused and wondering if we hadn't misunderstood the first tree's sign, we decided to continue on our imaginary walk.

Farewell silent friends !


Will-to-Evade and I wandered a while, until we were surrounded by blank space...

Nothing everywhere or maybe nowhere... I'm not sure... Everything was white

Like a child facing a blank wall, I felt that urge to mark my territory with a few random pen strokes. It was like a way to shout "I was First to Be Here" at the next wanderer who'd get lost in that emptiness.

And as soon as I had done this, the void was broken, something started to emerge from that initial movement.

 

What a strange place it was... Never been here before this day. I was sure now the first twisted tree had shared with us some untold Imaginary Land's secret.


My eagerness to reach that structure made me hurry a bit too much. Enough for Imaginary Lands, being unstable by nature, to made it fade and vanish under a new white layer before I could reach it.

I had wanted to shout in disappointment : "No !", but the Lands didn't give me any time to do so.

Cling !

Clang !

Those heavy sounds, in my mind !

Typical songs of mechanical lined and curved graphite artifacts populating Imaginary Lands...

I stared at Will-To-Evade : "We walked to far away, we lost what we were looking for."

Will shrugged and started to walk away.

Even here, Will was evading.

"I'll make you bring me there again", did I promise while that untrusty bastard was leaving me alone.

Of course, while my Will-to-Evade was fleeing away, I was willing to stay more than ever.

The mechanical song was closer now : Right in front of me, a new house was being built out - pretty quickly - from nowhere.



Each line, each curve was acting like a support or a resistance for its closest neighbor, making the whole structure resilient to Imaginary Lands' insane instability.

Now it was here, strange clinging building, simply waiting to be visited.

What's inside, my pen didn't tell me completely yet... All I could briefly see, was some kind of creature parts, half clinging, half organic.

EYE.png

Would I be bold enough to try to find my way insight that crazy structure ?

Not sure…
... And even less sure knowing that my good old sneaky Will-to-Evade could come back and catch me away from this area of Imaginary Lands.


To be continued...


That's all for now, fellows !

I must say I had fun at trying to build some kind of narrative link between these unrelated drawings.
Even if that's not great literature, I've enjoyed mixing spontaneous writing based on spontaneous drawing.
This experiment was unexpectedly fulfilling.

I hope you liked as much as I had fun.

Take care and farewell, people :)

(and feel free to report any language mistake, I'll try to correct them ;) )

Eth - 0x8Fcce0AD10D4Bfa515160EB622Acd1EF66969832
Neo (Gas) - AehkhJuaFTgJZh35xEU6ZbmYtQyENXFQhA
Peercoin - PMfXA33BDnrtTNwHUFmyCKvA1RgK3SmWgP

Copyright @berien - All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

What an interesting little story and really neat pictures of Mr. Maybe-Tree-Maybe-Creature and the structure that dares you to come inside closer, closer, close~

Beautiful works, both :D

And, it's so lovely to see a post from you always, @berien ! Hope your computer troubles are at an end.... I always look forward to your posts! :>

Thank you very much for the kind words, @veryspider :)
Working on the next batch of drawings that will tell us what will happen :)

Glad you liked :) Thank you ! :)

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Hi berien,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thanks ! Really appreciated :D

This post feels like I'm in a trance - meditating. Love the art but love this unique peek inside your mind even more. Lots of creativity going on here on so many levels.

Thank you, I'm touched :)

That meditating state you mentionned is something I'm seeking now more than the final result, the drawing in itself being simply the end of that state.

I'm often surprised by what I find on the support after a working session, but for sure, things can come easily when you let them do without too much control. :)

I think you have already achieved that meditative state. That's what I felt in your post :)
Meditation is a cool and enlightening activity, and having the skill you have to translate those visions as art is really wonderful.

I love your work ... It's quite appreciable .. Congratulations @berien.

Besides the pleasure at its execution, knowing the work is appreciated makes it pleasing to be shared, so : thank you @ladyceleste :D

I can imagine to satisfaction .... Keep making art!

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Good to have you back here @berien! I really enjoyed your story and I´m curious what will happen next in your Imaginary Lands. I guess you´ll meet many more phantastic places and creatures...

Thank you Miss Patschwork... I'm curious too about what will happen...
For now, with what's my pen has designed, it's still... hmmm... Not very clear :D

Congratulations @berien! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

You are a great artist. Loved you work.

Thanks @manisha.jain9 :)
I've liked your posts too, so I'm glad you came here : I've found some great positive and nice writtings to read :D

Thank you again for your kind words:))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79