My Robot is Big

in #art5 years ago (edited)

barış ilkhan.jpg
(2009, @bidesign)

This was one of the biggest piece when I were sculpting. Robot design was not mine. It was given to me as a charcoal drawing on a A4 paper. But never produced. It took 25 days with a professional assistant.

DSC08115.jpg
(2009. 3M. Clay)

Now they use 3d printers and CNC routers to make these kind of things. (If they have 3d software knowledge) And I can make my art now even it is not profitable. Actually I don't care how ever they do =)

DSC08112.jpg
(2009. 3M. Clay)

DSCI0001.JPG
(2011, Later same place, Established a SFX Studio. @bidesign was working on a monster mask)

DSC00080r.jpg
(2011, Musallat by @bidesign)

Sort:  

WOW. 😎👍

Some old times 😊🙏

Posted using Partiko iOS

Some owld times 😊🙏


I am a bot. I detect owl related puns.

Thank you bidesign! You've just received an upvote of 21% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.


Setup your own DelegatorBot

This is really epic! Well done, what happened with this? Was it used as a prop or it was work for a client? Did you paint it? Really amazing, the mask looks cool too:)

Georgeboya seen this comment. And it is enough for now.

Wow, a lot of cool artwork, you should make some posts and present them:)

Hahah IDK. these were just for you now. I am gonna delete them a few min later. They broke my contemporary artist id.

Molded with fiberglass. I saw it last 5-6 years ago near motorcycle parts on shelves of fiberglass casting atelier. No It has never used. It was a toy shop welcomer. But not sold. Plan was. we proof that we can do it. But after we did it nobody wanted to buy it. Too much resources and too much labor and as you know costs are too much high. I usually show this as a mastery skill on modeling. Because it is a robot and too much sysmetric and geometric for handmade. I was earning my life like this. It has Never casted as positive and painted. If it is avaible I usually just do my part and take my part
. Yeah this won’t be count as art. It is more an artisan work. I did many kind of things, Still it doesn’t work for me. What do i do wrong? Yeah this is my destiny and I decided to enjoy with it 😊Thanks for interest @Georgeboya. I have some these kind of stuff that classified just for artisan skills. I also have some more art That I do not show people. Because The ideas on them are not much for watchers. They carries too much artistic and creative worries. And now I can t go back to “Beauty” concept known as “Fine”. 😊😅 Money makes me believe in now. Bla Bla

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh, i see. I did a lot of cool projects too but never get paid for most of them. It is very difficult to make art and get money, lol.

Mask was used as prop but just 10 seconds in movie

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @bidesign that if it's great, what matters is that you enjoy doing it.

I want to take the opportunity to express my congratulations for winning the caption contest # 64... runicar.

ganadores.jpg

Thank Youuuu. Do you liked my offer?

Woah that is pretty impressive! I imagine a clay statue of that size must require some kind of internal bracing to keep it from collapsing? Or is that solid clay?

Yes There is welded metal rebar and styrofoam carcass inside. Also there is ring shape bended wire around all carcass to hold the clay.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very nice work. Do you use a series of moulds or just carve straight from large blocks? I've no idea how you'd build such a structure.

Posted using Partiko Android

From zero I prepare the mold for production. First I prepare a metal rebar carcass by welding. Than adding clay on it and carving it.

Thanks for responding. I find it really interesting. So you just bunch lumps of clay on the metal carcass by hand? How does the clay bond so well? My impression of clay is that it's a clumbsy material difficult to work with.

Yes By hand. Clay is one of my main material when suitable and clean. There is styrofoam over rebar and metal ring wired all around it, that holds clay. After carcass made, (we calll them "Sausages") clay pieces put on the construction and hit them with a wood to make them bond tight. Ofcourse it is not everytime enough. Sometimes clay is too wet to hold its own weight. When it happens we add some more wires or bars. Or wait some to clay get a little dry

In that days, selfie was not trend(I were calling "it is not normal"). And smart phones was a luxury for me. Because of this there is not too much self photos. And I had not have plan about proof it. I didn't expect I will publish these photos to people online and reply them:) I was not knowing people fooling each other this much.

I looked for photos but really couldn't find one while construction. Hope text reply is enough for you now.

Me thanks for interest

Thanks for such a long comprehensive reply.

I'm intrigued and glad to know a bit more about the procedure. .

For your next project, I suggest taking building pictures and also make it into an instructional how to. And do it over multiple posts so you get better returns and more exposure.

You've made an amazing thing. And something really interesting. Well done!

Posted using Partiko Android

I serve as graphic designer now. Not much sculpting (Income is same with graphic designing. I thought why i am tiring myself that much with no respect and with dirt.) But thanks in my mind. Yes I learnt it is all in my responsibility. I am my everything photograhper, teacher, designer, marketer, web developer...) bla bla

I followed you and shared your post. All the best, Monty

Posted using Partiko Android

OK. Hope you enjoy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84