Don't throw out the babies with the bathwater - Willamette Abstraction Series

in #art6 years ago

I generate a lot of images while experimenting with my new Deep Dream techniques. It is a recursive process, batting the same idea back and forth through different iterations while layering the current results with previous incarnations. Sometimes I get so caught up in the particular end vision that I am chasing, that I fail to recognize steps along the way for unique pieces of art in their own right. On the other hand, if I posted every image I create I would be spamming the blockchain.

Here are some babies I re-discovered recently while moving my working files for the Willamette Abstraction Series (Pt.1; Pt.2) to their own dedicated sub-folder within my Dreaming of the Willamette folder. These are process images from different stages of a variety of different art projects, all starting with macro photography of water ripples on the Willamette River. In every case I am collaborating with a neural network provided by the awesome and free Deep Dream Generator. Original photography, PhotoShop and Deep Dream art by moi.




Willamette Abstraction - Eye of the Deep



Willamette Abstraction - Eye


Willamette Abstract - holes.jpg
Willamette Abstraction - Holes - Mirror Crop



Willamette Abstraction - Holes



Willamette Abstract 1 - Skull Crown Black



Willamette Abstract 1 - Banner


willamette abstract 1 Bug Eyed King.jpg
Willamette Abstract 1 Bug Eyed King



The Rainbow Tree


Sort:  

That is beautiful @torico! Nice one! @cyclops approves!

i like this version. he seems happy in multi-color :)

These are amazing creations. There are simply no words, like this special and fascinating work of art. Almost mystical. Wow.

You've inspired me to mess around with the deep dreaming.
Some of the stuff that you get is mind blowing.
I like the skull crown black image. It looks like a woodcut print but with shading.
Awesome!!!

Oh cool glad to hear you are messing around with deep dream as well. It is so much fun!

I like the Willamette Abstract 1 Bug Eyed King. Pretty cool manipulation, also how's that as a possible lyrics, in this next level comment I received yesterday?:Screen Shot 2018-05-07 at 10.25.01 AM.png

Wow that is really one of the best yet! Obviously a very high level spammer!

They are all great but my two faves were Rainbow Tree and the Eye:) Love these, Carl:)

Incredible dreams. You were one who originally inspired me, thank you. So are you dreaming your photos in the style of something you create with photoshop?

well I am doing multiple steps here. So I will take macro photography of something textually interesting (water ripples in this case), run it through deep dream, then take the results and manipulate in PhotoShop, tweaking color balance, mirroring, rotating, then crop out a section of the result and run that back through deep dream with a different style image, and rinse and repeat. Then I often combine multiple stages of the process - these are just single stage shots, but if you follow the links at the top of the post to part 1 and part 2 you will see finished products that are combinations of multiple dreams and with lots of photoshop painting and other digital manipulation on top. Glad to hear I inspired you! That is awesome!

Thanks for the details of your process. I'm thinking of using generative neural networks to create dreams and words as the next step for me.

Wow! These mirrored images often look amazing! You did a real job on the coloring of the last image! Amazing!

Stunning. I’m actually quite mesmerized.

My favorites are ‘The Willamette Abstraction - Eye’ and ‘Willamette Abstract 1 Bug Eyed King’. But I feel I should love ‘The Rainbow Tree’ just as much because I’m drawn to colors. Besides, the man hiding there looks mystical. He makes me think of a Sufi about to share an aphorism. @yahialababidi !! If you catch this, there’s a poem here!

Hope to see another series. I’ve been told to stop resteeming because it drowns out my very few posts, but cannot resist decorating my blog with this one. Thank you!

These remind me of the music player on the original Xbox, stick a CD in and it would create these sequences that went to the beat, pretty cool, you could also control it with your joy pad, it looked amazing. Thank you for the trip back, great pics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12