Grandma Spiderwebs and the Darkness Invisible - an illustrated fairytale

in #art6 years ago (edited)

mother of darkness 6.jpg

Once upon a time...

there was an old lady who lived in a green valley but didn't much like to go outside. Too bright, too hot, she would say. And too rainy in the winter.



She was comfortable in a little old room in a little old home looking out a little old window. And besides, she had the spiders for company. Ah, the spiders spun the most beautiful webs which sparkled with the dew and glittered in the sun and gleamed by the light of the moon.

If only...

I could capture a spiderweb and keep it forever, thought the old woman. Then I would not feel this darkness inside.

And so she did.


But the darkness was invisible...

and the beautiful spider webs could not keep the darkness out.

If the darkness is invisible...

I will capture it by its shadow on a piece of enchanted paper, thought the old woman.

And so she did.

First the darkness was hiding...

in the head of a unicorn, but the darkness slipped through the old lady's fingers.

Grandma Unicorn.jpg

The old lady found three insects...

Now this is a perfect trap for the darkness, she thought to herself.

And it was...


Grandma Insects.jpg

Oh! The darkness is vast...

With its shadow trapped in the three insects, the old lady could see the extent of the darkness now. She could see it expanding out in bilious tendrils, its hidden pockets unfurling. The darkness filled the green valley.

Where is my little old house!

... cried the old woman. Where are my spiderwebs! But the visible darkness filled the sky above and covered the earth below. The last fading colors of the sun and the moon glimmered without hope...

She became aware of a presence in the darkness...

Who are you? How can I make the darkness invisible again? But the presence did not answer...

Brood Mother.jpg

There must be a path through the darkness...

And so there was. The old lady walked and walked through the shadows and the way opened up in front of her and swallowed the path behind until she came to the egg chamber.

egg chamber.jpg

I must be close!

... thought the old lady, and sparks of color began to spread around and around, spiraling out from the eggs.

Who are you?

the old lady asked again, suddenly and uncomfortably aware that she was not alone.

mother of color.jpg

I am the mother of darkness...

do you not recognize me? After all these years?

And the old lady cried...

Oh now I see, how foolish I have been! I cannot trap the darkness like a spiderweb. The darkness will always be inside.

And the colors ran like tears up her cheeks

and disappeared into her eyes.

mother of darkness 5.jpg

mother of darkness 6.jpg

mother of darkness.jpg

mother of darkness b&w.jpg

Darkness invisible...

Please click digital art images to see full size

  • Spiderwebs collected by my mother-in-law (my footage). She shakes baby powder onto the webs, sprays them with Elmer's spray adhesive, and carefully collects them on black paper. Spider song in the video is my own original music. Photo of Grandma Spiderwebs used with permission :)

  • Sun exposed images of unicorn head and insect toys also created by my mother-in-law.

  • All digital art was created by me starting from manipulations of the three insects sun exposed image. The darkness invisible was inside that image all along. I plan on writing a separate post about how I created these images, it was a very long and involved process!

  • Credit to @geekgirl for the "darkness invisible" inspiration.

Sort:  

Now this is quiet a story ... I love it. And I don't know, but the meaning behind is great. You can't keep the darkness away from you, you have to deal with it, adapt to it and find your own path towards the sun in your life.

Amazing hobby from your mother in law ... collecting spiderwebs. Never seen anybody doing that! I don't love spiders, but their webs are really beautiful. And so is your music and blog about the spiderwebs.

Yes exactly Hetty, you see the message as I intended it :)

Thank you ... Maybe it has something to do with my own mindset right now ...

https://steemit.com/photomag/@hetty-rowan/no-not-again

There's a lot of chatter and anxiety about the price of steem these days. People wonder about the future of the platform. The future is in work like this. I can't think of another venue where such a multifaceted, creative exercise would be welcome. Your post is an invitation to create. Just read one by @raj808 about his travels near Liverpool. Came back with the same sensation. These are the blogs, in my opinion, in which the future of Steem resides.
Really impressive exercise. And of course, your mother-in-law, I agree, is priceless. Though I hope there were no spiders injured in the process of collecting the webs.

Those spider webs are really fascinating. Had no idea, one could collect them like this. Wish I had the big one at my bedroom window.. natural and beautiful mosquito protection :-)

The artworks are beautiful as well. Mysterious too in a way. Thank you for providing high resolution versions. Makes quite a difference to see them big!

I had never seen nor heard of collecting spider webs before I saw my mother-in-law do it. It took some trial and error as she was figuring it out but now she has it down to a science :)

And thanks - it means a lot to me coming from you. I am a fan :) Cheers - Carl

Dear Creative Carl, there’s so many evocative collaborations, here, conceptual and actual! What a dense web you all weave of music, nature, concepts, story and art. Your mother-in-law is an artist — she should consider exhibiting her collection. You’ve made it come together & alive with your fairytale and remarkable digital art.

Tim Burton would be proud of all of you 🧛‍♂️
Meantime, I will muse some on darkness invisible as I revisit this fine post. ♥️

Couldn't resist the web you weave line, eh? LOL I would say low hanging fruit but it is more like a low hanging fly wrapped up in silk. I am going to tell mother-in-law what you said RE her web collection - that is going to make her day!

The darkness invisible line is really what made the whole thing gel and got me started thinking about a fairytale. A friend of mine reacted with that line (darkness invisible) when I showed off an early iteration of one of the alien art pieces and it vibrated with me.

Also you made me personally happy with the Tim Burton reference :) Repurposing the familiar in service of the surreal - Burton is one of the masters.

Much love - Carl

Haha, nope couldn't resist :P Love line about wrapped up in silk and used in a very short poem of mine (featured on NPR)

Seriously, though, very impressed with your mother-in-law (truly new ideas are hard to come by) and her collaboration with nature is the best way to study it and, paradoxically, to give spider web long life ... maybe, even, immortality.

Re purposing the familiar in service of the surreal. Yes, brother, this is what we try to do, with fine estranging eyes, because the ordinary is miraculous _/|\_

Amazing stuff! I love the story, the artwork, and the way you fused the two together.

Thanks Tom! That means a lot to me coming from you :) I consider your posts to be works of art as well.

OH WOW this is amazing, carl ! A M A Z I N G !

I love the story that goes with each stage of the picture, also! It really feels like a mystical journey as each layer of process reveal further path towards the end <3

Gorgeous patterns and hidden invisible elements, and that last sentence is really a fitting and lovely finish to the story <3 <3

Hey thanks and I love that you said it felt like a mystical journey - I wanted to start out grounded in reality and step by step journey out into the surreal without losing the underlying thread of truth :)

Wow! That spider webs are awesome! Needs a lot of skills to collect that. :D
I like how you narrated it. And ooohhh I thought this one was a GIF! Because the green light looked like it was glowing the first time I've seen it. :D
Awesome works!

Yeah my mother-in-law has mad spiderweb skills :)

this is so inspired! im trying to resteem but things are messed up. hugs!

Thanks Torico! I have been geeking out on the art for this the past few days and I got a real rush when I was assembling the post this afternoon. Everything clicked into place nicely and I am really pleased with the result. Glad it resonated with you! hugs Love you!

What a beautiful and creative post, you never cease to amaze me!

Awww thanks Julia! It has been a very interesting road down the deep dreaming path for me, figuring how to integrate AI into my artwork as another tool in my process. You and the Art Explosion contest gave me the original push to make my very first surreal foray into this realm, so thank you for the inspiration! Much love - Carl

Although the spiders creeps me out but Loved to read your story! Preserving the spider web like your mother in law did was absolutely amazing! she must be a amazingly talent lady! your digital arts was also Awesome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83