Pawel's Wall - original Steem collaborative art post

in #art5 years ago


If you haven't ran into @witkowskipawel yet, check out his blog! He is a really talented portrait photographer who has been making some awesome posts since joining a couple months ago.

Last week I was reading a travel blog he posted about a trip to a ruined castle and I was really struck by a photo of a decaying brick wall (see image to the left - original photography by @witkowskipawel used with permission).

I could instantly tell it would be a very fruitful base image for my alien art process. The combination of brick texture, and slimy liquid, and crumbling patches = alien playground for me and my AI collaborator.

Pawel was gracious enough to let me mutate his photography and share the results with you today :)


Original Base Image Crop (rotated)

pawel.jpg


First Mutation

Pawel's Wall First Mutation


First Mirror


Pawel's Wall First MirrorClick to embiggen


Inception

Allow me to share a bit of my alien art process. I wanted to make a mutated base image that would leave the original photograph a bit farther behind for the next round of mutations.

I use the Deep Dream Generator for the initial creation of new shapes, but the images it produces are typically patchy. Some sections of the newly generated image will be awesome, while the AI will struggle to fill in other areas.

I liked the melty shapes I was able to attain using a black & white pen psychedelic drawing as the style image, but there were too many chunky sections of undifferentiated black. So I used the Smudge and Clone Stamp Tools in PhotoShop to fill in the areas of black with textures taken from other sections of the image. A texture graft :) The GIF below is flashing back and forth between the original patchy deep dream layer, and the modified version I created to use as a new base image for the second generation mutations below.

Pawel-Dream-Lines.gif


Second Generation Mutations

pawel dream blue greenblue bones.jpg


pawel dream blellow greenblue psych lines.jpg


pawel dream psych bones.jpg


Second Mirror

pawel dream psych bones mirror.jpgClick to embiggen


45° Rotation Crop (new base image for 3rd generation mutations)

pawel dream psych bones mirror 2 rot crop.jpg


3rd Generation Mutations

pawel mutation I diffpsych bones lines.jpg

pawel mutation I bones lines bw.jpg


Third Mirror

pawel mutation I bones lines bw mirror.jpgClick to embiggen


3rd Mirror Crops

pawel mutation I bones lines bw mirror crop II.jpg

pawel mutation I bones lines bw mirror vert crop.jpg


Fin

Sort:  

Absolutely and totally mindblown following this process from the starting photo of a physical wall - to the incredible complex piece of art it turned into. Big thanks to @tygertyger for always sharing the good stuff she finds, I might have missed this post of fascination of it was not for her.

I have to agree with the comments, in a few of the images I do see faces - in fact some of the progress images are unique pieces of art in their own work.

I love the creativity and uniqueness of this post, it's just a shame it doesn't receive more visibility - I'm sure many more people would love to enjoy this given the chance.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Hey thanks for this great comment and the resteem :) I love @tygertyger so glad she has been inspired by some of my art and photography to do her own (awesome) versions.

I have been developing what I call my alien art process for a while now and I am really getting some interesting results. Here are a couple other cool examples:
https://steemit.com/art/@carlgnash/grandma-spiderwebs-and-the-darkness-invisible-an-illustrated-fairytale

https://steemit.com/art/@carlgnash/we-arrived-on-the-dragonflower-the-first-brave-settlers-of-a-new-land-an-illustrated-future-history

https://steemit.com/art/@alieneyeball/opening-a-transdimensional-spacetime-bridge-a-how-to-primer

I wuv you too :D

Wohoo that's a lot of AI manipulations, but very interesting effect. I do like how it look in the end - the cropped part you've used as a first image looks like having a cyberpunk angel in middle (yay). Whole work looks like a good background for some crazy alien-cyberpunk board game :) Well done, I'm happy I could be somewhat part of this creation, keep the hard work! Everything the best for you my friend.

Thanks for letting me have some fun with your photo Pawel! I saw that same cyberpunk angel when I cropped out the cover image :)

wow.... great pic......

Thanks :) I am happy with the results

Wow! Amazing creativity 👌 I don't know about you guys, but I can see faces in it. Top job 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @kingcole84 :) Faces tend to pop up when you start mirroring intricate shapes, the symmetry that happens with the mirroring is what does it

Hi @carlgnash!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.445 which ranks you at #611 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 253 contributions, your post is ranked at #115.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86