Blackspot Seabream drawing and sculpt

in #art6 years ago

Hi Steemers! I hope you have a happy summer so far... I started a fresh project. Its about fish and creatures from the sea..
My intention is create drawings and digital sculptures from different animals that come from the ocean. Specially the Atlantic ocean. As a galician(spain) I want to create projects that It could beneficiate the community.
This is a Country that is very linked with the marine life. A lot of industries like fishing or boat building are stablish here.
My city, Vigo, exports most of the fish to Spain and part of the world.
Our marine life is very abundant with fish species and crustaceous.Octopus too.
Thats why I want to do a big project that starts here.
My plan is doing ink illustrations in my sketchbook, studying the animals and drawing references images and finally creating a 3d model . In the future I also want to create a Coloring book .
So hope you enjoy the process and my long travel across the sea...

Final Image

IMG_20180625_171232_395.jpg

I choose to do a Blackspot Seabream. A popular fish . very tasty also!
Its not particulary from this region but more located around the Mediterranean sea and also North America.
This is the final render of the image. I put it first because I want to display it as the thumbnnail image.

Documentation

IMG_4527.JPG

This is as sketchnote I drew from the documentation I did previously on internet to study the fish before start drawing it.
Annotations like what type of Kingdom, Family or diet are included here. I think its self explanatory .

Ink Drawing

20180622_200312~2.jpg

This is the drawing I did in my sketchbook of different references I google it.its drawn from observation.Direct ink on paper. Trying to do variations in scale and shape. And also trying to capture it in a nice composition coloring book style.

2dillustration

IMG_4530.JPG

For the final illustration, I choose 2 designs from the previous sketch. I did the clean up drawing with procreate for the Ipad and also the coloring.

process

IMG_4535.GIF

3d sculpt

Creation process

This is the process of the 3d sculpt done with the previous illustration as a reference.
In this video its shown the sculpt of one of the fish.
I start first stablishing the basic primitives shapes and joining them together.
Then I start with the details and finally I add color and lights.

IMG_4529.GIF

Video turntable

renderfinal2.jpg

Thats it! Thanks for watching!
You can follow.my works here.@carloscastro
Also I created a instagram page for.pets illustration.its called @petswildtoon.

See you in the next one! And fresh summer!

Sort:  

Wow! you have amazing skills! I really like how you sculpt in 3D, is an interesting method :)

Thanks a lot! Im glad you like the 3d model!

He loved your post, you already have a faithful follower

Hello @carloscastro, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63811.67
ETH 3092.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86