Painting a bar in Valencia&Sketching ice cream

in #art6 years ago

The other day in Valencia, Spain, I went for a walk in a sunny afternoon and I arrived to a famous place with several bars and terraces where mostly tourists, went to eat paella and have some drinks like sangria or beers.

20180514_145041-1~2.jpg

I stay in front of one of these bars,, it was called Cafe del Mar, and I did the sketch you can see above, first of all I did the line art.

It was done directly with ink on paper, I started drawing the people in the foreground and continue doing doing the main building behind.

sketch on location

20180404_145755.jpg

line art sketch

IMG_3001.jpg

I wanted to show like a unity in the composition, like if it were a Maquette, with the figures in sitting in the terrace, and leaving white space in the borders, to put the emphasis in the object, in this case,the bar.

digital painting process

In the video process you see above, I follow the same technique of my other illustrations, I usually establish the values of greys first, differentianting the dark and the lights, in different layers., I consider this step its crucial, because when you see a successful painting, the value of it is in the value tonality, and color it's secondary.,, specially in the realistic paintings, but abstraction art usually follows the same composition and value rules.

So once the black and white layers are done, I colorize the illustration with a curves adjustment layer in procreate app. I try to put a color that represent most of what I was seeing, I don't like to put a lot of colors everywhere, but use complementary colors for example, so when before it was black and white, now it's purple and orange, for example.

Sometimes I add more colors in more layers but if I'm happy I leave it like that.

digital illustration

IMG_3361.JPG

So the illustration is done.

painting process

Sometimes I like to paint a traditional version of it, it feels good to paint traditionally with brushes and pigment, it's so different than the digital method. And also, it feels good seeing the illustration in your hands, knowing that you did it and it has emotional value.

I have already the digital illustration done, so the painting becames much easier to do now.

videotogif_2018.05.14_15.04.37.gif

I traced a new drawing with a pencil in a new watercolor page. For this I use the light drawing table.

I start usually adding a big wash to the overall page, and then I add the yellow tones, because after the white, it's the brightest color, and in watercolor you want to follow the steps, bright to dark, because it's a transparent medium, and it works adding darker glazes to build the illustration.

Then I added orange gradients, combined with yellow in the buildings behind, and once the main warm colors are filled, I added the darks. These are represented by purple, and blue color, I try to follow the digital illustration color chart, but sometimes color are hard to match, so I try to get even colors that works in a similar way.

final illustration

IMG_20180514_145517_547.jpg

I used gouache this time too, because it happened to be areas with big flat colors, like the interior of the bar, that it's a dark shape, so gouache works well here, later I also painted the people faces and some details in the characters with the same pigment.

For the gouache, I just added white gouache to the watercolors, and you get a opaque pigment.

So the painting is finally done.


Icecream parlor day

This day I went to a ice cream parlor, one of the many that are in Alicante, Spain.

videotogif_2018.05.12_19.27.13.gif

I saw the beautiful colors and decorated ice cream that it was inside,, and I had to try one.. It was a hot sunny day too, so it was perfect moment to take a break and give me a present.

I usually go to places that not only have good food, but are well decorated, charming places to see you know,, for me as an illustrator it's important to recreate the senses, all of them,,,, so I just take the sketchbook and I did a sketch of this nice moment. I started drawing the ice cream, I ordered a cheesecake with lime, it was amazing,,

videotogif_2018.05.12_19.28.48.gif

In the gif above you can see the lady making crepes, I didn't try this day, maybe next time,, also you can see me with the sketchbook drawing inside.

line art

DQmNTXXLF1VdmeHeeRvBvwf386xcrkvd4DfB42jcgQpF34P_1680x8400-1.jpg

The final line ink sketch, I added the people that were waiting and the workers. They stopped for a minute to see my sketch and talking with me,, they were very nice to talk with..

The shop was called the borgonesse, it's a franchise and it has ice creams parlors in madrid and, Benidorm too.

watercolors

IMG_20180512_192622_903.jpg

I want to put emphasis in the ice cream, so I only add colors in the important areas.In reality they have so much color! That catches my attention in the first place, so I added watercolor warm tones to the different sweets ice creams.

final sketch

20180512_191304-1~2.jpg

The final sketch is done, I added more black ink and hatching lines,, to finish it more and create some contrast.


other sketch

I did this sketch the same day, I stopped in front of a crane, and I did this sketch, I wanted to express the fast movementsof the cars, so I did it quick with fast gestures, so it feels more fluid.

Later I added yellow color only on the crane and to balance the composition also in the painted lines of the road.

That's all! I hope you like it!

Thanks for reading this post and for your support.

Steemit . https://steemit.com/@carloscastro

Instagram. http://instagram.com/carloscastroilustracion

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/CCP85

Web. https://www.carloscastroilustracion.com

Email. [email protected]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78