This Caterpillar Needs a Name! Sketch Session

in #art6 years ago (edited)

~ #MondayRed #ColorChallenge Edition ~

I have been working on this character for a week or so. Today, I decided to get to arting and take it a bit more serious. I really wanted to make progress on this or else risk abandoning it to return to finish the Hulk vs. Wolverine or the Butterfly Color Experiment.

2e3

One of the biggest problems is that this little fellow has no name. I was hoping that maybe y'all could help me out with that. As you go through the post and see some of the character sketches... see what name pops in your mind that is most fitting and let me know in the comments.

This first image is most fitting for #MondayRed #ColorChallenge. Normally, a picture of a shoe box wouldn't impress me much... but this is my portable desk and supply carrier. It also sported a cool pair of Pumas at one point as well. This case is top of the line cardboard and should hold up for ages to come. Puma is a pretty durable brand.

2

I think this next one was the first sketch of them all for this little dude.

2a1

I had a difficult time rendering the little crossed caterpillar arms, so it took quite a bit of sketching to get it where it's at now. I still don't think I am out of the woods completely in that area either.

2a

2b

So I thought maybe... try to do one without the arms and legs and just get the body structure down first. This seemed to help me be able to focus my mind a bit more about how and where the arms would cross. I enjoy sketching in red at times because it really helps my mind not get too distracted by what is already marked on the paper.

2c

Then a sign to remind me it was #MondayRed for the #ColorChallenge showed up on my Red 'Desk'.... a tiny red spider! At first, I thought it was a tick. Then I was told that this is the smallest spider they have in Sweden. So, I was cool with 'em runnin around my red box on my red sketches. There was maybe more than one because it was around for a long time. I think it thought the Giant Red Box was momma! Good thing I had my camera handy. =)

Can you see the little buggah' ???
2c1

A little closer please...

2c1a

I also had a difficult time that was frustrating with the head. It's not wearing a hat but the little hood area was crazy to envision and sketch out. No matter how I sketched it.. something felt off! The red sketch with no arms or legs above is around the time I figured out the easiest of solutions.

2c2

2c3

2d

2d1

2d2

I was so serious sketching today I even started using the backsides of the paper. I usually don't like to do this since you can see the lines from the other side. It's especially annoying if I did any ink work on the other side!

2e

I even leave some of the sketches underneath the sketches to see multiple options at the same time. This can be somewhat confusing... but if I keep momentum it all comes together in the end (usually)!

2e1

The character and this artwork aren't quite where I want them to be yet... but the progress today was encouraging. I am looking forward to hearing any of your thoughts on a name and or something you like/dislike about what is going on in the composition. It's early enough that constructive criticism is most welcome!

1
I took these photos with my trusty Nikon CoolPix S4300

As always, I truly appreciate you taking the time to stop by and experience my art. I hope that you enjoyed the MondayRedness of the whole experience. I look forward to updating you all on any progress with all of the art irons in the fire. Hopefully, I will have some IBT art to share as well. Have a great week and remember...


&
STEEM ON MY FRIENDS

Sort:  

I would call it "MOWO" or MWO, not sure...crazy doesn't it?. It came to my mind as I was staring at it, Moon Worm...
What can I say about the huge work you've done and what is about to come, my respect and support for you to keep on painting and inventing XD
Hugs Tim, my best wishes for the week.

I love that Moon Worm idea. The first sketch that is the roughest and probably first one looks like a moon on the left version. Thanks for the continued support and encouragement brother! I always look forward to hearing your contributions. Great name choice. =)

Your drawings are terrific and I love the showing of the process!! I like the name "Puck" because he has a mischievous little grin kinda' like an Imp. I also really like @drakernoise name suggestion. Lol..on that little red spider photo bomb..worked out pretty well for colorchallenge!! ;)

Awesome that you appreciated the photo bomb too! I wasn't sure if I should include it or not until I realized how serendipitous it was! I am really happy you enjoyed the art and the explanation process. It feels weird and self-centered when I am writing it... but I do think it adds value to hear the mind of what is going on behind what is seen.

Great name selection too! Puck the Moon Worm wouldn't be a bad name! Thanks for stopping by and for your nomination too! Looks like it's friends to the end! hahahha
Steem On

You're very welcome! Don't let yourself feel that way because a lot of people really appreciate hearing/seeing the process! 😊

Hello @castleberry, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72