Art 148: First Time with Oil Pastel “Life’s Amazing”steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello!

I love the idea that I am still a new artist. Like I want to try new different art media. I started with graphite and stuck on it for two years and then I tried using ink. This year, I tried watercolors and oil paints and now I will be using oil pastels - something that I have not used before for my art blogs and in general.

I actually have many negative thoughts about oil pastels. Such as that it is very difficult to control and it is very messy to use. But since I love to explore and experiment new ways and learn, I erased all the negative thoughts I have and start using them.

Here is my 148th art blog. I got the reference from pinterest ( Here is the link ) I found the boy perfect for my first try with oil pastels. I hope you enjoy my creation!

44D6C9C8-9795-423C-8583-37D4E11F5E70.jpeg

TitleLife’s Amazing
MediumOil Pastels on Vellum Board
Dimension8.5 x 13 inches
DescriptionWhen I saw the picture of this little boy, I automatically told myself to do an artwork of him. I commend the owner of the photo and/or the photographer for capturing the perfect emotion on this little boy! I am totally amazed by this photo like it tells me that life is amazing.
The ProcessPhotos
I started by sketching the outline using my 2b Staedler Pencil. I only got the general lines of the subject and made sure that the scale is correctly done.367371B2-8E3B-4B94-968C-00C45E2724A1.jpeg
Then, I worked with the face. The base color I used is yellow. Then I layered it with peach and used brown and black for shadows and to get the correct values. I used blue to add highlights on the face.40136827-A150-40A9-BF6F-2F515551DFF9.jpeg
For the eyes, I used black and blue. And for the hair, I used the same color and added yellow and orange for highlights.B1A18DEC-40F6-435A-A60D-A16108D3A2F2.jpeg
I continued the same process of layering of colors on the skin and slightly blending them until the whole body of the subject is colored with the oil pastels.91C5D1E0-DDC1-4BB7-AFDE-9AAFEE9D961B.jpeg
For the background, I used three different colors to blend these are yellow, yellow green and green. The yellow indicates the part of the painting that captures the light and the green for those shaded part. I also added black and brown to add more shade and value.956D2248-4115-4CC1-831F-618D4CFFB681.jpeg

I hope you enjoyed this art blog. If you have thoughts and suggestion in mind, please do not hesitate to comment down below. If you think this artwork deserves more views, you can also resteem this. I would gladly appreciate it. Spread the love!

42194A2E-4369-4399-BAB0-00A076E7D6B3.jpeg

Be Happy, Christian Yocte

84D494D6-E085-4A36-855A-E0CCBD39C5B3.jpeg

AEE9EDC8-6FD3-4BFE-8427-A7DDF8FA02C1.jpeg

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

Wow this is amazing and creative

Yay! Thank you for your sweet words. I am glad that you found this amazing!

That is very cool! Excellent work, Chris!

Thank you @trincowski! I have to take a break with inktoberchallenge for a while.

HAHA, the expression on the little boys face is priceless. He is so wide-eyed and looks very excited, very good drawing. I also love your photo, your very handsome Christian, and you have such kind eyes and smile friend. Looks like your sitting at a store ❣️

Thank you so much. I have sad eyes. I dont know why. Hahaha

Hello @christianyocte, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10