7 Hours of Chalking in 2 Minutes: Time-Lapse Chalk Drawing of John Lennon

in #art6 years ago

This is my fourth portrait I've finished with chalk! First there was Einstein, then Marilyn Monroe, Tom Petty, and now John Lennon. Three of these were for an annual event that I participate in where my current studio is located, IdeaXfactory. We partner with a local non-profit, FosterAdopt Connect SWMO, to raise awareness for their wonderful services for foster and adoptive children. I chose to chalk John Lennon in theme with them because I had learned he was adopted by his Aunt and Uncle since his parents were unfit to care for him.

Christie Snelson John Lenon Chalk Portrait.jpg
Here I am posing with the nearly finished portrait.

I had learned some tips from my very talented artist friend, Francois Lariviere, before chalking my first Einstein portrait and continue to implement his advice, and I have learned a lot on my own in practice as well as some great tips from other participating artists at events. I use a grid system with 1'x1' squares. Lennon is 6'x7'. I create a printed reference with the grid laid on top and am careful with how I allow the image to be intersected by it, especially the important facial features. I use gray scale chalk pastels, and I have a few nicer Prismacolor chalk pastels leftover from a college drawing class I use sparingly for more intense, darker color.

Once I have my grid laid down on the asphalt or concrete (this one is on asphalt), I start outlining the basic shapes. Then, I start from the middle, typically the eyes so that it's interesting to my audience from the beginning, and that way I don't have to worry so much about disrupting the chalk by walking on it as much as I would otherwise. I still do this because the wind likes to blend my chalk as I go and because I continue to see ways to improve likeness as I work my way out to the outer squares.

I like to wear gloves to protect my hands even though I always wear holes in the fingertips, even the heavy duty gloves I chose this time. One of the artists suggested using a paintbrush to blend which you can see me implementing toward the end of the process which saved my hands.

black and white christie snelson lennon by pam.jpg
Process photo by Pam RuBert at IdeaXFactory

I also like to add color to add my own flair. It helps me establish my values and likeness a bit easier. There's something about pure black-and-white that doesn't satisfy me these days.

I set up my camera and filmed my process. My camera kept shutting off because of the heat (95 degrees on asphalt), but I strung together the clips I filmed and really didn't miss too much. It was so fun and requires so much focus I barely noticed how hot it was. I sped it up 12,000% to create this time-lapse. It took just over 7 hours, and I placed 1st in the adult category! Very exciting!

I was also in the newspaper and was interviewed by the local news on TV! They spelled my last name incorrectly, but I'm used to it with my unusual name haha. You can watch it here.

newspaper christie snelson_einstein_chalk.jpg
Local paper promoting the Chalk Festival with a photo from my first year participating.

I started another one this weekend for our "Second Saturday" promotion for extra practice, but the wind gusts kept mixing my pigments so I'm going to finish it tonight or in the morning when the wind calms! Being on poured concrete, it makes this a more difficult factor but much easier on my hands. Another time-lapse in progress as well!

christie snelson_chalk_bourdain_process.jpg
Photo by Russ RuBert of the IdeaXfactory.

I have a lot to catch you all up on, I've been scurrying the last month or so being in the moving process and juggling multiple projects. Stay tuned for more paintings, pottery, and chalk drawings!

Thanks for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

www.christiesnelson.com

Sort:  

Wow, this was so incredible to watch... seeing it come together in the time lapse was such a nice touch. All I could think of was how hot your poor legs must have been! Lol. Beautiful work, I’m in awe.

Thank you! They were a bit hot, for sure. Easy to ignore when I have a challenging mental task at hand. I was very thankful when that tent went up! Saved my skin!

Hi christiesnelson,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Wow! Thank you so much, Curie! You guys are too good to me <3

Congratulations @christiesnelson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I've always liked John. Good art work, well done.

Thank you! I appreciate it :)

I can't believe this! 😱

Even with the video, I was still wondering if it was possible.

Great talent!

Haha well I'm glad the video helped! It's not much different than drawing with charcoal which I've been doing for 12 years or so...just a bigger surface area. Thankful for that grid to assist me with proportions! Thanks for the compliment :) <3

Great talent lady! keep on keeping on.

Thanks again. And I will, I'm not sure I know how to stop!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06