New Geometric Paintings: Space, Mountains, and Flowers

in #art6 years ago

I just can't stop with this series. Usually I find myself moving on from a group of paintings finding ways to transition into a new theme. This time the new paintings I'm creating aren't so different. I'm holding on to this geometric theme but really exploiting the illusion aspect of the work. I'm also moving on from simply images from the Hubble and integrating my own images I've taken over the years. I've been popping different photos in with a number of recycled shapes from my "Perspectives" series, something I've been working on since the beginning of the year. Many of these new pieces I wrote about and shared in a blog post here.

The newest one off my easel uses the Hubble image of Westerlund 2 but also a photo that I took on a hike at Rocky Mountain National Park. I'm playing around with digitally manipulating these images with a sort of 3D effect or just changing around the hues as well.

new_2018_triangle illusion.jpg

20" x 20" acrylic on canvas

I've also taken on a rather larger canvas, taking out the negative space, and letting the pattern envelope the surface. I'm expecting this one to take a while. It includes another painting from Rocky Mountain National Park at Emerald lake, a photo of a flower from my Grandmother's funeral that I've painted a number of times, and a Hubble image of Carina Nebula that I used in my last series. I created the image on my computer first, took measurements and laid down my tape, and I got to work!

cubes_30x40_option1.JPG

My digital rendering to use for reference.

in progress_new.jpg

Beginning of the process. Finding my composition, proportions, and colors.

in studio_in progress.jpg

Moving along, and a peek into my studio (I moved my space again, by the way. Another post about that soon!)

IMG_6603 (1).JPG

Up close currently. I just can't wait until I get the time to start honing in on the details.

If you have any thoughts or reactions, I'd love to hear them. Including constructive criticism! Feedback is so valuable. Thanks so much for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

www.christiesnelson.com

Sort:  

These are incredible. So sorry, but I don't have any criticisms, constructive or otherwise. Following you--very excited to read and look at what else you post.

Wow! Thanks so much, Mallory! Following back for your writing ;)

You've received an upvote from @slothicorn! Click Here to Read our New Curation Policy And Updated Rules
(@ghulammujtaba)

Thank you thank you!!

oh I really love them!!!! speaks to my sci-fi love and nature love simultaneously

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75