DIY Doodle Art | The Grooviest Pair Of Shoes I Have Ever Own

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Finally, my shoe art is completed! It took me a long time to finish it because I was preoccupied with other things and life in general. And recently the family - my husband and the children were sick. I am still unwell though with coughing and irritated throat. I hate this kind of sickness. I knew it will linger for weeks until the nasty virus goes away by itself. The last time I had this, it lingered for a couple of months.

So back to the shoes.

I wanted to do this for quite some time but I di not get around to it until recently. This year I wanted to focus on discovering and trying different styles of art and I do not want to limit myself to just drawing or painting on paper. Quite a number of people have asked whether I ever want to work on canvasses. Yes, I do but I do not have the space or a proper place to work because I live in a small apartment. But it is definitely something I must do in the future along with trying my hands at using other media like digital.

Here is the completed shoe art...

31968192_10156203602964070_6637056242894241792_n.jpg

Interested to try something similar? Well, this is pretty easy to do and anyone can do this. Here are some tips to consider before you start.

1) Buy an inexpensive pair of white canvas shoes. I used a pair of white school shoes.

1.jpg

2) You can use fabric markers if you want but I used permanent markers. I am not sure if permanent markers will stay vivid longer like fabric markers but I guess they should last longer with proper care.

3) Draw your design using pencil first. And later use a black fine liner/ballpoint to outline the drawing.

2.jpg

3.jpg

4) Markers bleed badly. So be careful when you color. I used pointillism method to reduce the bleed.

5) Very important: After you color one section, let it dry for at least one hour before starting to color the section next to it or else the bleed will be more prominent and hard to control. Because the shoe is made of fabric the layer below takes longer to dry, unlike paper.

6) Wait for the colors to dry before using a black marker to thicken the outline of the design. I prefer to use ultra-fine Sharpie to do this because it does not bleed too badly, you hardly notice it.

Here are the rest of the progress pictures:

4.jpg

5a.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

Thank you for checking out my post!

My previous posts:

My Sketchbook | Monster

Art Jam With My Kids

Crypto Art Challenge [Round 6: Cardano Edition] | Staying Focus Like Picasso

Facing Hardships | The Cowards and The Braves

My Comment Stickers For Spammers!


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!


FINALUSE3.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

I was waiting for this post. Congratulations, you did a great job! I love it! And get well soon.

Thank you @erikah. Making this was a lot of fun ;)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Beautiful! love how the patterns and colors are eye catching but do not seem busy. Resteeming.

Thank you @twirble. I could get carried away with the details but thank God I did not LOL!

Ugh, that is so me( the getting carried away with details part)

It's so good to see the finished result !! :D
Looking awesome ^^

Thank you @kristyglas. I am very pleased with the result :)

Love it !!! This looks great, and congratulate you on your patience @coloringiship. Now you made me think about making myself pair of these :)

Thanks @jungwatercolor. Yes you should give it a try :)

OK, I am in love... love, love, love.... Did I say love enough times? haha
It's gorgeous.... and you even walked us through on how to do it... Thank you.
Was just wondering what would happen if it gets wet.... maybe it needs a layer of wax of something to protect it... just thinking out loud on text
These would make great prezzies 😊

Thank you @kaerpediem. Glad you liked it. Yes I was thinking how to seal the color. It will fade if it gets wet but I don't think it will be too obvious. Let me wear it for a couple of months and will report back the result.

I wait patiently for the updates 💗

I always enjoy your detailed walkthroughs, and the results look amazing 😍
Kau terlupa simpan standard Steemit label kau dalam gambar hehehe

You noticed @webgrrrl LOL! Thanks a lot for commenting!

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Amazing- my shoes look so boring now!

This is greatly done ! Bravo ! ^_^
okay.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70