An Unlikely Crypto Creative [Interview with Fil Dunsky, Illustrator]

in #art6 years ago (edited)

The “Unlikely Crypto Creative” series of interviews and stories are centered around creative professionals who have made their way into the world of blockchain and have begun to apply their practices to the new domain.

The Creative Crypto (TCC): Tell us about yourself, your (creative) background!


Fil @dunsky: Hi guys, my name is Fil Dunsky and I’m a freelance illustrator. I was born in the Far East of Russia into a family of artists. I’ve been drawing for all my life. After graphic design and arts university, I worked for about a year as a corporate designer and then went freelance as an illustrator.

For the last ten years, I have been drawing commissioned work. I would say it has been pretty successful because usually I do not have a single free day without any illustration project in a queue. Most of the time it’s 3-5 projects in a row.

I only work in my personal style and I create illustrations for advertisements, books and mags covers, websites and all kinds of packages for big brands like Coca-Cola, McDonalds, Wrigley etc. I also draw portraits for private clients and sometimes pursue fun activities by creating some stickers for messengers and different game character designs.

180515 dunsky-worksamples.png

TCC: How did you first discover Steemit.com and the cryptocurrency world as a whole?


@dunsky: I was always interested in technologies. I love new gadgets. New mobile phones are like narcotics to me. I cannot even make a list of all the models I ever had. Also, I had a passion for coding in school and bitcoin for me was just a new interesting technology which I started to learn about a year ago. Once I’ve bought my first coins I learned of other prominent Russian financial leaders using platforms like Golos and Steemit.

Golos is very small unknown Russian fork of Steem. It’s a copy and real junk. I was using it for a few days reading trashy trending content, feeling awful. But I traced it back through its fork and found Steemit.com. I found the art community to be much bigger and more qualified here and started to follow really nice artists, designers and illustrators on the platform. Since then, I’ve gotten to know many colleagues quite well.

180515 dunsky-worksamples-3.png

TCC: What have your experiences been like and how do you think that crypto technology and community have influenced your career?


@dunsky: I was looking for mobile application or at least something to get some push notifications and found the eSteem app almost instantly. It was nice to get notifications, but the eSteem user interface was outdated. I connected with @good-karma, the developer of eSteem and contacted him with few simple suggestions on how to improve the app UI.

He liked my illustrations and asked if it was possible to use them as stickers in his application in the future. I was more than happy and said yes, for sure. If you have ever created something, you know the feeling when somebody is asking for only your help. It always feels special.

I was not aware of Steem Power that time, who is who here, and that some users have stronger upvotes because they have more Steem tokens in their wallets. But of course he did and I was lucky to meet him early on.

He started to support my posts and it gave me a really great boost of enthusiasm. I was feeling as if I was fishing. Blogging and checking if I will catch a big fish or not. I never asked him, never sent any links with a request an upvote, but he supported me even in the periods when I was not posting for week or two he wrote me sometimes asking if anything was wrong.

180515 dunsky-worksamples-2.png

Gradually I became more interested in the Steemit platform and found more and more time drawing for the eSteem blog because it was greatly rewarding, reviving my childhood fun towards creativity. When I was a boy, I had much more freedom like drawing my own newspapers with stories and illustrations on them. Here, I can do the same now. Steem started to become a fulltime job for me. Now I can proudly say I am part of the eSteem team. I cannot even imagine that just in 9 months it has brought me more than 25K USD in Steem Power and some other crazy numbers in SBD. It really was worth it.

@good-karma is a really great guy and he supports a lot of newcomers here on the platform. He is a witness also by the way, one who really deserves your vote. I am lucky to have such a friend and supporter here.

Now there are many people who are supporting me here and I am really grateful for that. @sndbox incubator is also one of the greatest projects here. I love your sense of taste, guys!

TCC: What would your words of wisdom be for creative professionals who are interested in blockchain?


@dunsky: Invest your time in blogging here. I know, your time costs a lot. Mine does as well. In the beginning, I thought it wasn’t worth it. But Steem may give you financial freedom and a job of your dreams if you stay committed. It’s always hard to start and that’s okay, just keep posting great things and do not ask people for upvotes. Do something useful for the platform. Imagine that this is a co-working place where a lot of creative professionals are gathered and you could do anything. This will be well rewarded, believe me.

TCC: What does the future have in store for Fil Dunsky?


Fil @dunsky: I am feeling that Steem is my own company. I am not the chief here but I own a part of the company. It is unique how the blockchain makes you an investor and I don’t want to sell my Steem tokens at all. I’m looking to leverage them to create a better eSteem app and even create children’s books. They are increasing in value over time and the fact you have them in your wallet can make you smart and responsible content curator. I don’t want to support trashy content because I want the value of the platform to grow bigger. I am sure my future is in Steem.

180515 dunsky-worksamples-4.png

More to Explore!


If you are interested in learning more about Fil Dunsky and his work take a look at these links, below:

Website: http://dunsky.ru/
Steemit Blog: https://steemit.com/@dunsky
eSteem app: https://steemit.com/@esteemapp


180308_CreativeCrypto-Icons-07.png 180308_CreativeCrypto-Icons-12.png 180308_CreativeCrypto-Icons-08.png

Sort:  

Hey guys, thanks a lot for featuring me here! ❤️

Hei @dunsky. Nice story about you here. Always success for you my friend.

Thank you, man!

Hi @dunsky, thank you for your contribution to the @creativecrypto magazine. It was fantastic to learn more about your amazing work and origin story within the crypto world!

Steem on :D

Thanks a lot, guys! ❤️

Love this ! Such a joy to read about all of these ideas and collabs with such talented people ! Thank you, @creativecrypto and @dunsky !

I feel the same way!!!! Steemit belongs to me ;)
I own... my piece of it! and I'm very protective and nurturing of it! :)
Wonderful post - and glad to see that you've been honored on the first @creativecrypto magazine! :) Желаю вам больших успехов!

Спасибо :)

Пожалуйста 😊

Thank you for your wonderful efforts
Really great article published well, my friend
I wish you all😊😊

Thanks for this useful information and good luck with your creativity!

This is very inspirational!

Such a great interview and I really do love your illustrative style! I love to read articles like this as it's fun to see how different people have come to steemit and to the blockchain and digital art in general.

You're the best! really awesome work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00