The Individual Variations in Aesthetic Perception

in #art5 years ago (edited)


Image taken from Unsplash

If beauty is in the eye of the beholder, what would aliens find beautiful? Other animal species must perceive the world much differently than us. Eagles see much farther and they perceive movement much easier than humans who can see stationary objects very well. Would a sentient eagle describe movement as beautiful and staticity as dull?

I wonder, if all beings turned sentient, what would an inclusive museum look like? I'd like to see the art in it. I know that some people like abstract art and apart from the ones where the colours are particularly beautiful and well mixed, I just can't see the difference between this "art" and stains. Would the museum be similarly unappreciated by other species with different perceptions? I imagine it would.

Even among the people around me, I see all kinds of different appreciations. Aesthetics are such an interesting thing to explore, yet infinitely vast, as there is no right answer to the "is this more beautiful than that" question, but infinite answers pertaining to every living individual, and everchanging as people are born and people die.

I found myself trying to explain to someone why I thought something was beautiful, even though they were making a face of disgust. I understand their perspective, but I don't seem to make myself able to be understood. I will keep trying to explore this sense of beauty, though I don't think that I can find a proper exportable format to personal aesthetic perception.

Sort:  

👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Este Post ha sido votado por @gatillo y curado por @bebeth para @steempress-io


https://discord.gg/AgtNh53


Ya que utiliza el servicio de hospedaje de WordPress de @reveur y el plugin de @steempress-io para publicar contenido en nuestro idioma, el #castellano, si deseas saber mas o formar parte, haz click en la imagen para entrar a nuestro discord.

Un proyecto de @nnnarvaez

Hi, @cryptosharon!

You just got a 4.46% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @cryptosharon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 13000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @cryptosharon!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.493 which ranks you at #1984 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 12 places in the last three days (old rank 1972).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #142.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

We can never tell. A lot of humans and non-humans have their own lists of what's beautiful and what's not. :)

Happy to see you again on here! Looking forward to reading more of this. :)

Hey, Dawn! I've missed you. How are you?

I also agree that this is a nice way to post. I really enjoy the freedom of words and just expressing whatever idea comes to mind. I'll make sure to take this into account when I make more posts in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84