Colouring - Is It Art?

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Common Jezebel.jpg

Source
Common Jezebel Butterfly

supportboard.png

Hey Everybody! Just feast your eyes on the beautiful colours of this butterfly.

Today I would like to talk about 'colouring'. Do you consider it to be art?

Children have always been given colouring books, usually containing very basic stencils. As a child, I did not like these books. I didn't like colouring the vast areas.

Now, however, 'Adult Colouring Books' are readily available and the images they contain are more detailed. Here is an example from 'Butterfly Colouring Book for Adults' (ISBN 9781523252985):

Butterfly col 7.jpg

My Latest Butterfly Colouring

I coloured one of the designs from this book manually. Then I scanned it into 'SketchBook' for a background.

It took me ages and was relaxing. I binged watched 'Criminal Minds' on Prime while I coloured it.

IMGP0038.JPG

Some of my Colouring Pencils in Butterfly Cases, Of Course

I keep the pencils in colour groups so that I can easily find the colour I want.

Although I enjoy colouring, choosing the colours and relaxing, I don't really consider it to be art because there seems to me to only be one aspect of creativity for the person doing the colouring. What do you think?

IMGP0041.JPG

As well as colouring pencils, I have coloured ink pens of various nib sizes. These are useful for outlining when I draw my own stencils or artworks.

I hope you enjoyed seeing my colouring materials. Why don't you have a go? It might be fun for you too.

Other Posts That Might be of Interest.jpg

Follow this link to enter Naturestorm, my outside colour guessing game:

https://steemit.com/naturestorm/@deemarshall/the-naturestorm-game-day-30

Have you entered Colourstorm, my colour guessing game? It only takes a few minutes to enter and you might win some Steem! Follow this link for details

https://steemit.com/art/@deemarshall/the-colourstorm-game-day-63

Follow this link for details of 'The Butterfly Colouring Contest #9:

https://steemit.com/butterflycolouring/@deemarshall/the-butterfly-colouring-contest-9

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

Hello @deemarshall, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much!!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Wow sis ❤️ so beautiful. I miss you..God bless you.

Thank you :) I hope all is well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71