STREET ART #39 – Valparaiso (Chile) is the place to be

in #art5 years ago

DSC_01.jpg

Before I went to Argentina and Chile in January this year, I had heard that Buenos Aires is the city in Latin America with the best street art. My first stop on this trip was Buenos Aires. It did not disapoint, even I only saw a litle of what the city has to offer. A few weeks later I came to Chile where I had a stopover in both Santiago de Chile and Valparaiso.



When I came to Valparaiso I was amazed! I haven’t been to many cities in South-America, but Valparaiso surpassed all my expectations. This city is packed with graffiti and street art. It has become part of the identity of the city, ranging from simple tagging to large murals. The variety is enormous!



Every house and every street has street art. Not only on houses. On benches, doors, stairs and even on the sidewalk.



Valparaiso is located on the coast of the Pacific Ocean, situated on hills, which gives a great view of the city and the harbour. The two «hills», Alegre and Concepcion were mainly developed by English and German immigrants, which is easy to see when looking at the houses of these districts. The architecture is just as interesting to look at, as the street art.



My first walking tour around the two areas was on a guided tour. It turned out to be a good idea. It was informative, not only about the art and artists, but also the history of the city and the architecture. It did give a good background for understanding the city, the history and the art scene. Otherwise, just walk straight out in streets and you can be certain to see beautiful artwork and artists working.



According to the guide there might be several thousands pieces of art in the city! I think I returned with almost 200 photoes! And that is only a small selection. If I should have seen all of these paintings, I would need many days. One good thing is that the areas with the largest concentration of art is easy walkable. And almost every house has a painting, you will see many in the same street.



There is more to come. I am not finished sorting them out!


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next street art. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest street art post, check out :
STREET ART #38 – Graffiti and street art in Copenhagen (Denmark)


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap -33.047326 lat -71.612568 long STREET ART #39 – Valparaiso (Chile) is the place to be d3scr)


Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Food, Article, Poetry

Sort:  

Beautiful! and your photos are great.

Thank you :)

What a phenomenal place! So many excellent artworks, I love it!

Thanks for another amazing Street Art Article, @digi-me. Fantastic job on this one!

Thanks :) I can guarantee you will love Valparaiso! If you love street art, that is definitly (one of) the place to be. If I ever go to Chile again, I have promissed my self to stay a few days in that city :)

It's definitely on my bucket list. Now I just have to be patient and not sell Bitcoin below the $1 Million mark, so I can retire and travel the world! 😂😂😂

(Just kidding, don't take this as an investment advice.)

hehehe.... ..Yeah! retirement with loads of money would be nice :):)

Wow, these are amazing photos! I'm really loving the artwork. I wish all cities were as decorated as that! I used to live in LA and we had a lot of street art out there too, but definitely nowhere near as prolific as this. Great post! :)

Thanks :) It was amazing. It is everywhere :)

Amazing. You just don't see stuff like that where I live.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=digi-me
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=street-art-39-valparaiso-chile-is-the-place-to-be


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

thanks a lot :)

Wow! What a great place to be roam about. Some sort of simply amazing art and good to know a city is embraced this way of culture by filling with this art.

Posted using Partiko Android

It was amazing, I must say. The best place for street art I have ever seen :)

What beautiful murals on the walls! I wonder why there are such unusual subjects?

Thanks for stopping by. Valparaiso is unique when it comes to street art. Why it is so? I am not sure, but it is a city with a bohemian atmosphere, students, artists...somehow art has become part of that city.

sounds really interesting. when i travel to south america i definitely want to visit this city.

If I ever go to Chile again, so will I :)

Greetings! Your post has been voted and has had resteem by the @votomasivo project.


Appreciation: Each painting has a lot of color and content, they are great...


Don't forget to invite your friends to join our curation trail to support high quality post!

You can also support us by joining our fan base and delegating Steem Power to us. ↓

25SP50SP100SP250SP500SP1kSP2.5kSP5kSP

Join our community on Discord

Thanks a lot :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27