Original Art "Femdom - Get Some" Complete Process by Dirk Hooper

in #art6 years ago

FDGetSomeWeb.jpg

I've been doing a lot of experimenting lately to continue to evolve my style and learn more. This piece had several new elements that I tried, and I'm really happy with what I learned here.

FDGetSomeLines.jpg

After doing some sketching , my next step was to "ink" the piece in Adobe Illustrator and then transfer the linework over to Adobe Photoshop.

This time around I did something I've never done before. I chose a piece of art from a master and used his color palette to do my own work. The reason I did that was purposely restrict my choices (I've found that with restriction my color comes out more powerful), and to hopefully learn from a master.

7895526c693f962a2d359982d7b438f9.jpg

The piece I chose was "Dancing Bar in Baden-Baden" by Max Beckmann. You can see the color choices he made above.

With my limited color palette I began to lay down my basic background and figure color.

ScreenHunter_262 May. 14 18.51.jpg

I'm just trying to get an overall color-scheme set up here, and then follow that up with choosing different colors over the whole figure.

ScreenHunter_263 May. 14 19.39.jpg

ScreenHunter_265 May. 14 19.53.jpg

Then I begin to work towards the shadows in the piece.

ScreenHunter_266 May. 15 00.17.jpg

And then I work on the highlights and the details.

ScreenHunter_267 May. 15 00.43.jpg

My last step is to add some highlights to the eyes to make them look glassy and help them pop!

FDGetSomeWeb.jpg

What do you think? Please tell me in the comments below.

This piece is available on T-shirts, posters and more here: ‘Original Art: 'FemDom - Get Some' by Dirk Hooper’ https://buff.ly/2Krc3Su



All images are copyright 2018 by Dirk Hooper.

If you enjoyed this article, please give me a comment, an upvote, or a resteem! I'll share more of what you love the most.

Follow me: @DirkHooper

Sort:  

Hey you got upvote

I love it! great job!
I really like the shine used in your eyes, you can use it in other details too, but I really love it.
It also reminded me of a great friend who also makes illustrations, she is @anrux

Thank you! I've followed your friend too.

I'm sure you'll be the Van Gogh of our generation and even better. I like creative people. Thumbs up.

Ha! Van Gogh might be a leap, but if I can just expand my reach, and make a little money on the side that would be awesome!

Thank you for the kind words!

You're welcome

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84