A rabbit sketch and study and taking a break in the country with a trip to Rye and the Sea.

in #art5 years ago

Here is a watercolour study I made earlier in the year of a Rabbit.

nov6thumbnail.jpg

Here is the pencil/marker sketch before scanning and digital watercolour.
nov6rabbitsketch.jpg

I have not had a moment to draw or sketch or even consider painting, as we have been so busy.

However, I really love to share my artwork daily, so I thought, looking through what I have on my computer, that this rabbit sketch had a good English sensibility to it and was somewhat inspired by Beatrix Potter's animals, whom I loved growing up and still do to this day.

Today we were out ALL day, leaving our new airbnb in Newchurch, Romney Marsh Kent. A delightful very tiny village, which consists of a lovely little collection of cottages, a darling village church, amazing foot paths, and miles and miles of green and sheep.

The little local vicarage and church are adorable.

oct6rectory.jpg

And it was the epitome of an English Autumn, even with the rather American jack-o-lantern in the window.
nov6punkin.jpg

The church was lovely inside.
nov6church.jpg

As this is a very rural farming village, this old field plow was on display inside much like a treasured statue.

oct5church.jpg

I had meant to post about our arrival here yesterday, but we were so exhausted.

We packed up from our old airbnb in Canterbury and headed down here. When we arrived, we were gasping for tea and so had some in the lovely garden here. There was a lovely aspect from the back gate with sheep.
oct5ivansheep.jpg

oct5thumbnailsheep.jpg

Our airbnb hosts have the most adorable long hair jack russel, Lucy, who is a real charmer.

She and Ivan the dog had a good run about.
oct5ivanlucy.jpg

Here she is sniffing my wellies
oct5lucy.jpg

And here she is with my good friend, travel companion, and housemate Sarah.
oct5sarahlucy.jpg

Our reason for this sojourn deeper into the countryside was our desire to take a break from house hunting.

We have been at it since we stepped foot off the plane nearly two weeks ago. We have taken each and every day to look at houses and plan and scheme and dream.

We have dealt with banks and phone companies and gas and electrics and estate agents.

Our hearts were full with a place we have come to love, but as it is never easy to move to a new country, the ups and downs have been many. As I don't want to divulge too much until the "ink is dry on the paper", let me just say we have found a place we love but are awaiting more details.

Knowing we were now in stasis we needed a break from our house hunting.

We found a wonderful converted barn in this tiny village in the English countryside, packed up, and set up house yesterday.

Today we travelled to Rye, a lovely little village.

nov6rye.jpg
I could not help but think of one of my favourite BBC literary adaptions from the 1980's Mapp and Lucia which takes place in a fictional town based and filmed in Rye.

We of course found time for coffee and treats at a great local tea house. Ivan was sleepily dreaming out the window, tired from his morning of chasing Lucy the dog about the garden before we headed off.
nov6ivan.jpg

I took many photos, but will share those tomorrow.

We also continued onto the sea.

nov6sea.jpg

Although it was chillier with the wind whipping up on the sea, it was perfect for me.

I still did not wear my coat, but was happy with my quilted waistcoat and muffler. It was good to see and hear the sea again. I do miss that sound from Toad Hall, but I am happy to settle more inland in the countryside for Autumn and Winter.

The South East of England just suits me this time of year.

I do hope to post more tomorrow and try and find a moment to come and visit all of your blogs. Though, I think we had a day planned filled with antique shops and furniture haunts with occasional breaks for tea shops and public houses. We shall see.

I hope all had a wonderful day, as I did, and I look forward to connecting with everyone more once we are more settled.

Check out my other posts, if you like, and by all means upvote, resteem and yes leave comments! I'll try to get to them in between house hunting!

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  
Hola amiga @donnadavisart es hermoso el trabajo que nos presentas este día, a través de las imágenes nos haces viajar contigo a cada lugar y estar a tu lado viendo cada paisaje, es fascinante encontrar un artículo tan hermoso con un texto e imagenes tan bellas.
Te Felicito
Hello friend @donnadavisart is beautiful the work you present us this day, through the images you make us travel with you to each place and be by your side seeing each landscape, it is fascinating to find such a beautiful article with a text and images so beautiful.
Congratulations
Again...
THANK YOU!

So happy for your travels. Looks terrific.

What an ADVENTURE. It must be So exciting to just be bopping about, looking for a place to live in such wildly fascinating towns. It makes me feel all warm and fuzzy to imagine going from scape to scape, town to town, being free to settle wherever you're heart says "yes", (and all the bankables and landlordians and all that falderaugh allow), and then live there for a longish time. To truly get to know the area, the local folks, and just BE, in the area for a spell. Oh SO exciting. Yes, I know it's very tiring, but what an adventure. (Hmm, that sounds familiar ( :

And once you settle in, it will be so much fun. I'm there with you, in spirit of it all and envious joy, and looking forward to more of the story as it unfolds. It does sound like you are where you should be. Home, away from home, back home.
I shall vote, when my little vote gremlin comes up for some air. He is tired of 'dog' paddling about in the pool for now. Take care, and talk to you soon, dd

Wow, what a great and exhausting adventure so far! I am really happy that you spend some time taking photos here and there, I feel that I am right there with you, looking at these beautiful houses and marveling at their delightful culture.        
                       
That small church is totally adorable, wow <3333.
And also your rabbit ^_^.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

wonderful and so perfect artwork! ❤ with wonderful photography. all painting are so beautiful and awesome. love you artwork. God Bless you friend.

Really lovely post, Donna ! That vicarage and church is just TOO adorable <3 Love your picture of rabbit smelling the flowers too :D

And the doggos !!! Great pics :D :D :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83