A Racoon's tea party and a day out with a new friend.

in #art5 years ago

Another of my favourite animal pieces : "The Racoon's tea party"

nov29thumbnail.jpg

My quirky animal pieces, this from my tea and coffee series, has been rather popular. If you study it close you can see that there is an uninvited quest to this party.

Here are just a few of the things it can be purchased on. And if you are interested in it or any of my things you can see them herethere are various sales going on over the next few weeks for Holiday shopping.
nov29items.jpg

Happily this morning I went out with a new friend.

She and her husband have lived in Canterbury for some years and she wanted to show me a few great little hide away spots. She is Turkish and I was mentioning how much I loved a good Turkish coffee, so she took me to a great little hide away cafe.

I was happily presented with this lovely coffee in it's darling silver cup.

nov29coffee1.jpg

The coffee was amazing, rich and dark and locally sourced as well.

nov29coffee2.jpg

How could it not be a wonderful experience in a little hide away cafe drinking such a rich dark elixir out of such a wonderful little cup?!

Another wonderful spot, literally right outside the door from this Turkish cafe, is this quirky used book shop. The old building is associated with Dickens and has even been used in various productions of Dicken's based films.
nov29canterbury3.jpg

Look at that amazing sidways door!

You feel like you are walking into the 'old curiosity shop' when entering it's odd sideways door frame.

I truly do love Canterbury. And it is a lovely little walled city full of ancient buildings and fun little squares.
nov29canterbury4.jpg
You are always coming upon little spaces like this, which feels wonderfully old and always a bit higgeldy piggeldy.

I mentioned the city is being festooned for Christmas and I have not got any shots in the evening when the lights are in their glowing element. But this was still an amazing shot of some of the festooned fairly lights overhead, even if it was in midday.

nov29canterbury2.jpg

We finished our post coffee midday walk along some of the canalways here in the city.

nov29canterbury1.jpg

There are little bridges and secret gardens here and there my new friend pointed out to me. Nothing is better than the luck of a friend who has sourced out all the fun little byways for you!

As this is England, we had all the weather today, from grey to blue skies and sun and now pouring rain. Luckily, I am happily deposited back into my snug little house with Ivan at my feet and hot pot of tea awaiting me. It is time to get down to some more work and dream of my next day's outing.

I hope all of you found a moment to visit with a friend today and to see a bit of your town, as a tourist.

Check out my other posts, if you like, and by all means upvote, resteem and yes leave comments!

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Oh I asolutely love raccoons my sweet trash pandas :)
great drawing as always
@rhondak you must see this :)

hi yidneth glory pic.jpg

Awwww it always makes me awww thanks

Oh my goodness, SO SWEET!

I'm so glad you love them. I've had funn with various animals in my coffee/tea series. You know I haven't done a rat one I don't think. I should do one in honour of you :)

Awww I would be so thrilled
Ratties are the sassiest

My fufunchis were
Tuula, wind. Agouti, brown
Ritva, birch branch. White with black eyes light grey marking
Taika, spell, grey
Just like the plushies

But just if you need fun inspo
Any rattie would make me happy just if aknowledging ratties are cute

Ih my I sound like a crazy rat lady

Oh oh oh!!!! This is ADORABLE! I'm going to share this in a raccoon rescue Facebook group I'm part of. :-) THANK YOU, Yidneth!

Thank you, I didn't even know there was such a facbook page!

So wonderful!
I swear I am going to write..i started a letter days ago, but have been terribly distracted. I actually did get to see friends yesterday! I drove all the way to East Providence!! whoa. Paula and I visited our friends in their new home and then ordered some flatbread, had a quick visit and promised to get together for a day visit to the city next time (we just went over after work, so it was a quick visit).
This next friday we are doing christmas stuff so I'm hoping to post some festive pics of my own soon.
Paula's son says he loves Canterbury.

I LOVE that there is always a twist in your artwork. This cat is perfectly under-covered :)

Those raccoons are awesome... I love raccoons! For many years I had an albino/orange and white with it's mate, track through my yard and live under my shed for winter time like clock work, I haven't seen them for two years.. I know they can be dangerous to cats, however, I have pics somewhere of my cat rollin around in the sun while the racoons are hanging to, the three of them just hung out no problem... They obviously are very domesticated living in inner city, and that's not the norm. thanks for sharing... gonna look at your store... ever trade?


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Canterbury looks awesome. I have always wanted to visit. And I do like the cat among the pigeons as it were :0)

Oh good, so you saw the little situation in my drawing :)

Yes, Canterbury is lovely. I also really love Rye, well I love a lot of the South actually, Devon et al.

I have been to Devon, it was lovely. Yes the South is great. Even though it is weak compared to the power of Scotland!!!

Oops, sorry, just slipped out ;0)

Beautiful!
And, btw, I adore England! ♥♥♥
Thanks for sharing! ♥☺

Oh good, Me too! My second (I wish first) home :)

It's been my first home for 4 months by now!!! ♥♥♥

Hahaha, they are so cute, I would like to adopt them all Donna :)
And that coffee..I usually bring my own grounded coffee on my travels, and as person staying with airbnb homes, usually have moment of surprise with hosts when asking for some small pot for cooking my morning coffee :)
This coffee is prepared when you boil water in something we call dzezva

and when water boils, you put one or two tea spoons of grounded coffee. Return it to boil for a sec all together and than you drink it. I usually have mine with some milk and some sugar.

I had one of the little copper pots when at University. I had Lebanese friends who showed me how they make Turkish coffee and I would boil it three times, lifting it off the fire each time it began the boil, they also added cardamom, which I LOVE in it, by my Turkish friend here says that is NOT what Turkish people do ;) BUt, I'm an American so I'm a mish mash of everything so I told her I might still add cardamom to mine when I make it for myself :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73