A #sublimesunday on a Monday: Garden, mini-pond and daily sketch

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Sunday's daily sketch inpsired by my day in the garden and my Singularity obsession of course

july9colour.jpg

The black and white sketch before playing with colour.
july9bw.jpg

If her eye's look a little wonky it's because inspired by my last Singularity painting I shared which had the happy accident of two eyes looking different directions, I tried it intentionally in the sketch. Now, in the painting, the result was the accident of filling in the robot eye on the left with too much colour, therefore covering the white of the eye, giving her the look of staring at you whilst her other eye watched the butterfly. That turned out great and I went with it.

In this sketch I did it intentionally, the robot eye looking more outward, whilst her 'human' eye down at the flower. I'm not sure it's working. It might just be that idea of contrivance and when some things are too planned they seem, well, too staged. But, that is why I make sketches and studies because I like to try things out.

Here it is flashing in a gif betwixt and between monocrhome and colour, just for fun:

Now, yesterday was a rather busy Sunday for me, thus that is why my #sublimesunday post is happening on Monday. I had to make a trip to change over my cottages but also wanted time in the garden and I always make art time everyday. Thus, by the end of the day, photos taken and idea for post ready, I just hadn't it in me to post. But, I don't feel I need to post every single day and Summer is always a busy time for everyone. But, I digress, off to the garden...

I decided to make a small container pond in the beds by my new porch and terrace.

july9pond.jpg

This spot was getting very dry and Puss decided she wanted it for her 'litterbox'. As it sets right up against the house and next to a place I like to sit on my new porch, it needed a makeover.

When I had a friend over the other day we were watching the birds play and eat in the new borders and trees when she mentioned I should have some water out here for them; which is true. I always like to include water in my gardens, but as this garden faces the sea, I didn't think about it. I mean the Atlantic is the water, but then I realized: of course all the song birds that visit our garden do need a drink. Thus, this idea mixed with this odd dead spot gave me the idea.

I had this old galvanized tub sitting about anyway and figured it'd be a perfect birdpath/fish pond.

july9steps.jpg

So, I set about putting it together. Here in this shot you can see 1) the empty space 2) with the tub in place (I had to take out one dhalia that was struggling anyway and moved it to the front of this bed) 3)some iris and watermint I stole from my little pond in another garden here. I always save my pots my plants come in, as they come in handy for potting up, starting seeds, and in this case to hold the plants to sink in the 'tub pond'. 4)It set up with plant pots hidden by stones and my little fountain propped up.

The fountain I took the other day, when I decided on this project, from my cottage I rent out in the summer. It was in the garden there, but it sat over an old pond that I turned into a garden bed, as it was too much work to keep a pond going for weekly summer guests. So, she came with me and the galvanized tub back to Toad Hall to take up residence here.

She has seen better days, but I love how she is falling to bits. It gives that 'weather lived in' look I do love in gardens.

july9statue.jpg

She is not yet hooked up, as I need to find a small pump. The old pump was for a large pond and if I used that it'd not only take up most of the tub but would probably shoot water 10 feet in the air! For now she looks nice simply watching over the new fish.

july9koi2.jpg

And as I have other galvanized things about here, like watering cans and planters, it looks lovely.

Here are the orange of the fish with the bright pinks of my dianthus.

july9koi1.jpg

As this pond is small, come Winter these fish will either move to the house aquarium or go in the larger pond with the other fish.

This makes a nice spot now to view the sea, my garden and my new fish! Puss and I love to have a break here now.

july9puss.jpg

Well, I think I have rambled on long enough. I hope all of you had a lovely #sublimesunday in our #steemitvillage and hope you Monday is looking up as well.


If you like my posts please upvote, resteem, and by all means comment, I love comments!


Check out my other posts:


Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Ahh what a beautiful transformation, I could almost thank Puss for using that area as a litter box as so to inspire you to create this lovely pond!

It was funny , as I just made these beds this Spring for my Spring project with my porch terrace and pergola. It is really dry and hot here with the wind and sun and for some reason this spot was bare, maybe mostly due to Puss, who can say.

She isn't mad though, as she is particular about where she drinks, often turning her nose up at a bowl of water (what do you think I am a pet, she seems to say) but choosing any of our glasses as soon as we set them down between our own drinking. She loves to drink from my little pond in my old veg garden so now she is happy to have this, as she can hop down here and have a good ole fishy drink. The life of cats.

Aww, I'm glad Puss approves of the new pond too haha Yummy!!! Fish flavoured water!

You have a beautiful garden and also lovely fishes 👌👌

Thanks, I'm excited to watch them grow. I always keep fish of some sort, I think it's part of my water obsession.

I love how you made the fish pond, so creative! You have quite the collection of animals XD Love it.

Yes, I have always been obsessed with animals. I was constantly at my parents to have more and more. I hatched my first chicken eggs quite young and did so by convincing my tutor (I was homeschooled) to let me do so as an 'experiment'. I was allowed to do such things if I made it into an report and did research etc. I've always been fascinated with the animal kingdom.

That's so awesome and clever of past you. Doing it in the name of sciene!

Hi darling! How have you been? I am back (and I am not back!)
There is a friend of mine who has crossed eyes and I never know where is he looking at.
That puss is so meditating! What a funny photo :) Cheers to you!

Oh good, I wondered if you were okay.

Have fun with your boss-eyed friend and keep us informed!

OH. MY. GOSH. That is just stunning. Every time I see that view of the ocean, I am in awe at how close you are. It must be so peaceful.

Kitty looks so happy looking out on the ocean :)

It is quite peaceful. I have to say it is the perfect setting for a self imposed hermit. Being mainly an introvert it's wonderful and secluded and quiet and mostly just me and the animals, but I like to see people sometimes and having a house on the sea fixes that, because when it's Summer people come to you! You don't have to leave to visit with others :)
I wish you could visit!

love how you mix nature tenderness and technical elements is these pictures! It looks so saturated in this contrast <3

The post is wonderful.

Well, thank you so much.

Your garden is so charming. I hope the kitty doesn't eat the fish.

Your garden is so
Charming. I hope the kitty
Doesn't eat the fish.

                 - kathleenscarboro


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19