New Singularity drawing: Darwins Dream

in #art6 years ago

My Singularity World and series is growing. This lady has a connection with her pet that she cannot quite pin down.

may12singularityladyTHUMBNAIL.jpg

The entire image:
may12singularitylady.jpg

My Singularity series was born oddly from a loss of power and tech during our Winter. Having lost power for multiple days on more than one occasion, I imagined up a self contained power station of a being, part human part tech, somewhere in the future after the Singularity.

It is fitting, then, that this little lady was born over the past two days when I was again faced without tech. Our internet went out Thursday evening. I imagined it was simply down due to all the trucks that have been clearing trees around our town over the past months. An inconvienance often, their large trucks blocking roads and 4 to 5 police needed to direct traffic. They are felling large trees all along the power lines. It was this that I thought was the reason of our loss of internet.

Then, as the day stretched onward and I'd keep checking, it was still out. I bit the bullet and called comcast, a chore I'd wish on not even my greatest enemy. After some time talking to robots and people far over the world, we discovered it was not the area that was down, but that it might be a problem at our house. The next time someone could be sent out? Next Monday!

I was livid. I mean internet in many ways is like water or electricity now, we depend on it for work and daily connection. But, being a monopoly, Comcast can do whatever it likes, because what can I do? Choose another company? There isn't another company. I always think of the South Park episode concerning the cable company, it was very apt.

When I dug deeper into the conversation with the person on the phone I asked, could I just go and get a new modem to see if that is it. "Sure", she replies, not the least interested. So, the day was spent buying another modem and messing about and by the end of the day, just before @winstonalden got home from the city, I had done it! I was proud of myself as I often let @winstonalden handle the tech, but I couldn't stand it, so I did it myself.

Now, during the day I actually felt like it was a little holiday. I spent a lot of time out messing about with my latest garden and building project. I put up the railings on my little pergola, I built more raised beds around my veg and new porch. I transplanted some day lilies and roses.

I began to think again, were I a singularity being, half human half bot, constantly connected and also my own power source, how I could multi-task.

I could be live streaming my garden project whilst having one of my processors laying out a new painting and digitally drawing it at the same time that I was digging a new hole for a rose and playing with my chickens.

This drawing today has one of my ladies happily engaged in the past time of the leisured class of human antiquity, enthralled with her exotic pet, who finds, in some way, a connection with this master. A feeling of familiarity it cannot quite pin down, but it knows that when it wraps its warm furred hand loving around the cold plastic one of his mistresses, something still quickens in his heart; it offers up enough love that he happily does the service to hold his ladies fan for her.

I wanted this lady to have an 18th century feel and rather than a large sailing ship or some other dramatic head piece in her powdered wig, she dons gears and wires, possibly connected and working or maybe made in a millinery moment recalling a human past that still just pops up around her periphery memory.

The metal globe deco on the front of her head piece is a nod in a way to @gric wonderful paintings of a future world of spheres and towers. Indeed I have often said my Singularity women would worship at the alter of his gynoid's and perhaps my lady wears a representation of the world in the mythology of the Gods of the Androids. Who can say? I know she will eventually become an oil painting, possibly both digital and real world.

Well, after having almost two days tech free and thus spending more time dreaming up and drawing an imagined integrated tech world, I think I have earned a cup of hot tea on my new porch. I hope all of you enjoy some moment to both appreciate our current tech but to also hope the future allows more real world to take fore thought as the tech becomes more second nature. It is a Brave New World.

If you like my work please upvote and feel free to resteem and by all means leave comments.


Check out my other posts:


asteemitfooter.jpg

My bitcoin wallet as per the @slothicorn request to provide it with your artwork.

Sort:  

Nice. This is great!

Love the new look to your lady. The connection to @gric is wonderful too. His works are amazing. I always wanted a pet monkey, but was not exotic enough to have one. It IS so olde world, isn't it? "Let's get a few lions and tigers and bears from far off lands to mess about with". Wonder how many folks got eaten by their new, exotic pets. Or at least chewed upon for awhile. They never put THAT in the movies...
A small spider monkey would definitely be a bit easier to wrassle.

I do like your take on the tech, and let's keep some of the natural world still shining through, folks. So, so very important indeed. I think that is one good thing about losing it now and then. Forces us to slow down, and take stock of how much the world has really changed. And gives us time to enjoy the truly organic parts of life, that are still all around. Like tea on the porch looking out at the ocean. Sublime Tuesday.

You’re very talented, steampunkish techno in a way. Well done!

Thank you so much.

As Mick Jagger says,

Well, I am just a monkey man
I'm glad you are a monkey woman too

Love that feeling of a future world you create there... sort of steampunk without the steam... maybe steempunk then ;-) Somehow it also reminds me of "Dune" I read some 30 years ago.. about a futuristic world with lots of 19th century designs!

You know what is funny? I have never red Dune nor seen any of the movies, maybe I should do.

I think I'm loving the idea of creating a future that has beauty and leisure and also no power failures :) I think this Winter really did something to my psyche .

Red the first book and saw the movie later, actually thought they did a good job. I know there were several more parts, but neither liked the books, nor anything else made after the initial one... I think you might like the original.

I wanted this lady to have an 18th century feel and rather than a large sailing ship or some other dramatic head piece in her powdered wig, she dons gears and wires, possibly connected and working or maybe made in a millinery moment recalling a human past that still just pops up around her periphery memory.

really very amazing with the above sentence..

This lady seems so steampunk, i like it. You are talented and i restem your art, so cool!

It is unbelievable. I enlarged the drawing and it is so much full of details. Go on and on with it!
I'm sorry for the internet. I hope things will get better soon. You seem to live at the end of the world with all those problems of electricity and internet!
I had the same when I lived in Nepal-a third world country.

Wonderful drawing! I love the monkey: seems so symbiontic with the Lady! Both selfish but bounded each other.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85