Today's watercolour study, working in the Pub, and preparing for Cyber Monday

in #art5 years ago

A study of a ram this morning.

nov26thumbnail.jpg

Our new English house is on the High st in our village and a few doors down is the Red Lion.
nov26redlion.jpg

It is one of our two local pubs.

However the Red Lion is also an inn and serves breakfasts and lunches and teas and opens at 10:30 am. Thus, this morning I thought I'd pack up my small computer (my surface) and head over.

It's a wonderful little place and they were just setting up for Christmas. The lights aren't yet on this tree, but you can see how quaint it is with all the dried hops hanging from the old beams.
nov26pub3.jpg

Here you can see one of the darling window seats and some more Christmas festooning.

nov26pub.jpg

I've counted three trees thus far in here, and it sounded as if there might be more. This one, in the back room (also a good place to sit) felt very countryside, as you can see the old horse's bridle hanging on the brick wall. We do live in the countryside here.
nov26pub2.jpg

This tree was in the process of receiving lights from one of the great staff here.

nov26pub4.jpg

The landlord is a funny Frenchman, called Rene, who loves to regale the locals with tales. He also keeps two huge standard size dogs, one poodle and one giant schnauzer. When Ivan the dog met them, we were able to tell them that each of these two breeds: poodle and schnauzer, had created Ivan the dog who is a 'schnoodle'.

Now, back to my morning sketch.

As I only had my little surface, which has a nice drawing digital pen and an old version of Painter installed, it is very slow and clunky compared to my main computer and Wacom tablet I use for most of my digital art. However, sometimes this odd behaviour can result in fun mistakes, 'happy little accidents' as Bob Ross and every art teach I ever had called them.

The lag caused by using the digital watercolour (as it takes a lot of processing power to recreate the spread and drying quality of watercolour) made interesting patterns and affects.

A closeup of what I mean:

nov26closeup2.jpg

You can see the drag of the brush as the processor works to keep up with the effect.
nov26closeup1.jpg

Whilst on my more powerful computer and 1000's of layers of sensitivity on my wacom tablet, this would not happen. It moves and flows much like a real stroke of wet paint across paper, drying and moving normally. But, on the surface it cannot keep up and freezes little moments like this in dots and patterns along the brush strokes.

For a study, I rather like it. It would even be fun to try and manipulate the randomness of it in making a final piece. Much like that joy in Printmaking that I always liken to Christmas morning as you never know what you are going to get when you peel back the cover of a print after it's gone through the press.

Today is cyber monday.

And for those of you who don't know, it is a big selling day for any online sellers of things and that includes me with my art on things. I am going to be posting these two little small images I made touting the sale happening on society6 today.

They feature some of my animals in chairs and my other animal works as well, though all things are on sale today with most free shipping.

cybermondayadvert.jpg

cybermondayadvert2.jpg

I really do love selling my art on things and places such as society6 have really upped their game in products. They have reusable wallpapers and duffel bags as well as housewares and kitchen items an bathroom things. SO many things. I am always surprised the large things of mine that sell, for example the giant wall murals are often popular.

I noticed the other day someone had purchased a pair of curtains with my painting of one of my 'dogs in chairs' that actually featured my own dear (now gone) italian Greyound.

nov26curtains.jpg

And I spent a lot of time laying them out onto the curtains as I really like the mix of decorative and fine arts and that was what the chair series really played with.

In fact looking through my past work and top sellers to prepare for this selling season I realized I sort of missed my decorative/fine art combination work.

I am considering making a new self-imposed structure for my december and calling it #decorativedecember to give myself that focus of animal and female form mingled with the decorative as my daily art goals. I think it might be just the sort of task to get me back on track here in England.

And speaking of that, I need to get back to work, so I shall close here. I hope all of you have a lovely Monday and for all you online sellers out there, good luck today and going into the Christmas and Holiday shopping season!

And if any of you would like to buy, my links are below and today on Society6 there is 50% off most things with free shipping, so why not go over and check out some of my things

Check out my other posts, if you like, and by all means upvote, resteem and yes leave comments!

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

I love the ram, he kinda sending out such a happy and friendly vibes to me :D And as usual, I love your photographs of England !!! Such lovely post, Donna !!!

very charming pub indeed! hope your cyber monday sells well and are you accepting steem/sbd? yeah I know it's not worth much now, but .....

If I had been successful at getting my own site back up and running, I would have done and do want to accept crypto. However, the move and ensuing to-doing has left my site on hold, so my goal will be to have it working by Summer.

I'm trying to split my 'cafe time' between our little village and then canterbury, which has endless great cafe's to work in and some good shops on the high. This weekend I'm off to London, though, as I've been aching to be in the city during the Christmas season!

That looks a smashing pub to be living very close to and a nice looking wee place altogether. The art is not bad either ;0)

It's quite good @meesterboom and we've another one just across the road, so we are spoiled for pubs in a tiny village. You'd think it'd noisy being on the high, but it actually is so quiet. Of course our Grade II listed old house has walls so thick, there could be a bomb and we'd miss it!

I would love to perch myself on that widow seat while listening to the landlords stories and snuggling dogs! It sounds like you’re settling in nicely. Also, good luck with your cyber Monday sales! ^^

Thank you @vermillionfox! Exactly!
We are lucky to have two such seats in our house too, which is down down the road, and so I sit in mine (lucky in that it is also in my room) and snuggle Ivan the dog and watch people mill about. I really love our Village!

Thank you, you never know how people are buying each season, but it seems every year that online sales increase. I've not even bothered last year to attempt any things in local shops (back in usa) as I hadn't the time and online is so much easier. I think, though, that next year I will get back into that as well, maybe that can be a 'new years art resolution' for me :)

awesome art , so cute , and nice pictures donna , beautiful place <3

Thanks @adelepazani I'm getting more settled here, though I still feel like I'm chasing myself in a circle as far as getting enough art done each day :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 193 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @donnadavisart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 12000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98