Wedding Caricature in Acrylic Painting

in #art6 years ago

Anna and Ammiel are two of my latest clients who have asked me to make a caricature for their wedding. So, today, I will be showing you how a caricature is being done and I also tried to capture few photos for the processes which took place for its completion.

I hope everyone will like my work.

A Little Discussion

A Caricature, according to Google is the imitation, a picture or a description of something or someone which exaggerates or makes a certain characteristic comical. This often to lighten up the mood of the message or the portrait and makes the painting more identifiable. All in all, a caricature can be intended to preach, to insult, to give compliment or just to give entertainment. Thus, it is best that you look into the intention of the artists as to how and why he come up with a certain caricature idea.

Most people are often confused with the difference of a caricature and a portrait. Thus, it is best that you keep in mind the intentional distortion of the subject's striking characteristics. This actually makes the making of a caricature a little challenging as such distortion is actually the very thing that makes your subject identifiable. When you start playing around these identifiable marks and you intend to distort them, you will have to carefully plan it out to not run the risk of losing these remarkable features.

The Process

Outlining and Drawing

Of course, it is important that you lay out your picture and draw the subject first for an easier process. I used my basic pencil and ballpen to be able to come up with the ideal drawing.

This is where you play with the features and this is also where you decide you how much of a distortion are you going to put into the subject. Allow your hands to freely move. This is the stage wherein you are still free to add more input or change few things.

Most of the time, I ask my clients how they want their requested photo to come out. However, most of the time, clients do not know what they want. So, I often ask few things and create a story behind their shared stories. Thus, I decided to use the "superhero" theme as both of them think that they have a superhero in each other.

Highlighting

Then, once I have already reached my desired outline and form of the subjects, I highlighted them.You can opt to using a ballpen or a permanent marker to fully give a distinction on the parts of the subject.

Coloring

As what the title indicated earlier, I used acrylic painting for this photo. Since I used the superhero theme, I borrowed the distinct color of superman and colored the subjects blue and read.

The Model Picture

The Outcome

Final Words

I hope you all like my work. I still have a lot of things and arts to show you. Thus, I am praying that time will permit me to make more blogs for all of you.

If you like my work, kindly hit on the upvote button and resteem this post as well for better exposure. Your kind words are the artists only consolation, so please leave your comments and let me know what you think of my work.

Thank you for taking your time appreciating my work. Until next time!

Sort:  

Congratulations @dreamcatcher00, your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I really appreciate your support on my work. Thank you so much!!

I like this very much! I love superheroes! Their faces were the same as the picture! Congratulations! great job

I am glad that you liked my work. Thank you @kennyvaldez

This is so cute! by your gift of art, you just gave happiness to a couple the really love each other... I like the concept of making them superheroes, for me it symbolizes how they protect and be a hero for each other for all eternity... strong bond between married couples is essential not only for them but also for their children and to build a very ideal family.

You understood my reasons of making them heroes.. yay!! Thanks for the kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79