Weekly Digest #2

in #art5 years ago

After more struggling to get Steemit to post...

Here's the second Weekly Digest!

Enjoy!

Adam and Eve 2

Adam And Eve 2.jpg
Adam and Eve 2, Acrylic on Paper, 2014
I wanted to see my improvement from the first one I did and I can see it. At the very least the background is a bit more creative.

Amish
Amish on the Beach.jpg

Amish on The Beach, Acrylic on paper, 2014
Another painting based on a photo that I can’t remember the source of. I loved the arrangement of the figures and thought it would make a cool painting.

Fountainhead Farms

Fountainhead Farms, Acrylic on Paper, 2014
This is the only painting I have ever “sold”. A friend of mine on Facebook was starting his farm and posted a picture of the somewhat rundown barn. I took a little creative license and painted what it should look like. He liked it so much he had me send it to him. And he sent money in return, much to my surprise! It was a bit smaller than he hoped but I hope he enjoyed it. He has a different farm now, you should go check it out! (https://www.facebook.com/Naughty-Goats-Farm-597723247319986/)

Front Porch
Front Porch.jpg

Front Porch, Pencil on Paper, 2014
Not a painting, but probably one of my first attempts at drawing something from life. By now the pencil is all smudged up, since I didn’t really know how to preserve pictures back then. Thankfully I got a scan of it before it was messed up.

Reading Girl

Reading Girl.jpg
Reading Girl, Acrylic on Paper, 2014
Another “stylized” figure. Arms and legs were so hard. They still are… Oh well. I still think it came out ok.

Here’s a “more appropriate” version for the squeamish:
Reading Girl (clothed).jpg

If you like my blogs/paintings/photography, please upvote and follow!
And check out my Wordpress pages @
https://driptorchstudio.wordpress.com
https://www.driptorchpress.com
And my Artpal page @ https://www.artpal.com/driptorchstudio

Sort:  

Nice photos! But please do give organic curation a chance, if this post had not been promoted with stacked paid votes, I would have upvoted it instead of downvoting it. #NewSteem

You do realize that buying upvotes doesn't give me all that much reward? This post was only going to give me $0.98 at the time you down voted it. $.0.98 on a $20 "investment". I only buy upvotes for visibility, not to make massive amounts of profit. And it worked, my post would probably have been buried so deep in crap posts you would have never seen it.
You confuse me, you have shared posts from voting services, like @smartsteem, which I use. And you have upvotes from people who have created voting services, like @therealwolf. If these services are so bad for the Steemit ecosystem, why do you have anything to do with them or their creators?
I'm having all sorts of trouble getting posts to post, I'm not making any money, most of the decent content on here gets buried in crap posts or posts about Steemit being so wonderful. I was an early adopter of this idea, but it's gone way downhill. And people with agendas like you aren't helping people like me out at all. I have nothing in here but the funds I have received over three years of curation and author rewards. I have never cashed out more than a little here and there. I don't have spare money to pour into this place and make myself a whale so I can go around down voting people just to teach them to "give manual curation a chance". I tried that. It doesn't work for people like me who don't have the funds to pour into SP so they can self-vote themselves into the stratosphere.
Rant over.
No hard feelings. But dammit man you cost me $10. And in this place that's a ton of money.

Those drawings are another level, my favorite is The Original Reading Girl. It's great.

Nice paintings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85