| Finally Done-ish? |

in #art5 years ago

Happy 1st of April. 2019 has been flying by so far. How has your year been?

a 20in x 24in Split Rock Lighthouse inspired abstract painting. There was also a bit of inspiration from Vincent van Gogh a Dutch painter (1853–1890)

"Split Rock Lighthouse is a lighthouse located southwest of Silver Bay, Minnesota, USA on the North Shore of Lake Superior." - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Split_Rock_Lighthouse

Any suggestions or tips?

-@drtarts

https://facebook.com/drtarts
https://instagram.com/realdrtarts
https://teespring.com/stores/drt-arts
https://society6.com/drtarts

Check out my pages!

Sort:  

You made me laugh with that title "Done-ish?" I know exactly what you mean. I'm drawing sometimes and never know when the drawing is finished. The more i look at it, the more i see flaws and mistakes that I want to correct but that should end at one point, right? But where is that point? 😁 I've been reading artist posts and other artists feel like that as well.

Anyway, back to your painting, which is wonderful by the way, I see the Vincent van Gogh influence. He used that technique, plus the yellow and blue combination as well. You did an extraordinary job, I love it! Keep up the good work and Steem on!

Right? I have so many paintings and drawings I've just had to put down for a while cause I didn't know if they were done or if I added more would it be ruined lol. I can really get carried away with this stuff when it comes to working with ink pens.

Thank you! I'm thinking maybe a few in Salvador Dali's style next!

Don't worry about them I'd say. One day you're going to know if they are ready or not, although the more experience you have, the more mistakes you are going to see in your earlier works 😀
Salvador Dali's style would be excellent. I'm not really familiar with it, so it would be a great way to learn :)
Van Gogh on the other hand is familiar, I've been to the Van Gogh museum in Amsterdam, have seen his works, at least a part of them exhibited there.

Done-ish. How do you know when it's done or not? I suppose you will always be fiddling by just adding a stroke here and there. I can see the influence of Van Gogh and love what you have done. The colors used are great and this is just so different.

Nice painting @drtarts! I can see the inspiration from Van Gogh indeed. It looks very good.

Well my year is also flying so quickly. Working a lot, spending time with kids leaves almost no time to spend for myself. Lately I spend some time on steem from what’s left.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I totally feel that! Art and steem get my late hours of the night in between my part time jobs, painting, kids and the woman! Though I'm starting to see steemit far more beneficial as and necessary as an artist because Facebook is getting worse.

I must say I like it here too. In case you want to share more of your work here, you have a new follower ;) keep up the good work!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I appreciate that sir! :D

Those yellow brush strokes are so alive and beautiful, @drtarts :) I love them <3 The closeup really adds a lot of artistic value to this post :)

Love the painting as a whole, as well! Good composition, the colours are dynamic and impressionistic and I love the motions of the sky that you placed in this canvas :)

Lovely work~

I appreciate your kind words!

I really like this impressionistic painting of yours, especially the composition and the colours you chose. The yellow and blue work wonderfully and the spiral shape, the wave, and the reflection are lovely.

Congrats for your first curie vote =).

Thank you! I really had fun with this one! I think if I do another in this style its going to be a tree or forest scene. Would really be interesting to add more depth and layers. I appreciate the vote!

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Woah the brushstrokes look amazing! Vincent van Gogh is one of my favorite painters :) By the way, I honestly can't believe it's April already :D but it's been pretty great so far. How about yours? :)

This year has flown by faster than anyone I've experienced thats for sure lol. Just keeping my nose down and working on my art and hanging with the kids/family on the rest of my time. Waiting for winter to finally go away also.

You took that bit of inspiration from Van Gogh and did him proud!

What I like about this painting is the way you indicate so much with such little things... the lighthouse light being like a little sun for the night time, and the gold of its light illuminating both the stiller water shielded somewhat by the cliff, and the great waves tossing white and high and breaking more than halfway up the side of that cliff. The waves and the sky itself ... the light spinning counter-clockwise through the sky and then rolling like a wave of energy holding down the energy of the tossing sea. Details, details ... the second of the two waves is actually a little higher than the base of the lighthouse, but it has already broken and is falling ... there is no way the sky is going to let its night sun be extinguished...

Other details I loved ... the waves hitting the shore like so many sensitive fingers, rock climbing their way up and down... the little purple fish swimming in the stiller water... the golden light catching the seaweed on the rocks ... the little stream of water running from under the lighthouse suggesting that not too long before, some rogue wave DID reach the base of the lighthouse... but the wave is gone, and the lighthouse and its light remains, undisturbed.

I don't think you should add anything. There is so much of a visual feast already! Thank you for sharing!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi drtarts,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77