"Ithaqa" Comic Book Update #210 I Love Libraries

in #art5 years ago

The_Fool_Page_24.jpg

I play a lot of Call of Cthulhu, the pen and paper Lovecraftian rpg, and one of the things I find very amusing in the game, is how much forbidden knowledge can be found at your local library.

Most of the pre-written scenarios that I have played through require a trip to the library, if the players want any real chance of solving the mystery. What's kinda funny about this, is that it means that the "Library" skill is one of the most important stats in a game that's functionally about defeating aliens and zombies.

It's kind of a fun rhythm that develops, the players go to the library, they read about city history or ancient mythology, they go out into the world and face unspeakable evil, then they come back, rinse repeat.

From a period perspective this totally makes sense, it's not like there was the internet, or even reliable phones in the 1800s-1920's. Where else could a person search for info? You even see this trope popping up in fiction that takes place in the 80's, like with Stephen King's "IT", in which the children... go to the library to read about city history and ancient mythology to face un unspeakable evil...

When I was in highschool I used to hang out in the city library a fair amount with my friends. You never really had to explain yourself when you told your parents you were heading to the library after school. Didn't matter that we weren't studying, we were surrounded by books!

Nowadays I live within walking distance of a library, and damn do I love it. Aside from all the free comic books and video games I consume, the library has also spent the last 3 years providing me with a meeting room for my local climate activist group, The Climate Mobilization.

The library nurtures my creativity in one hand, and my activism in the other. I don't have a larger point to make unfortunately, just an observation about the degree to which libraries shape my life. Though I suppose many millennials feel the same way I do, because out of all the things my generation is accused of "killing," libraries aren't one of them.

http://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2017/06/21/millennials-are-the-most-likely-generation-of-americans-to-use-public-libraries/

If you have any friends or family who might be interested in a Lovecraftian horror comic, please send them to our website to sign up for some free pages! https://www.ithaqacomic.com/contact-us/

Additionally, If you're new to this comic I strongly recommend you check out our instagram, as I'm currently uploading pages every day.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ithaqacomic/

Theresa Chiechi's (The Artist @la-fumettista) website is here: http://www.theresachiechi.com/

Lucas Gattoni's (The Letterer/Logo Designer) website is here: http://bit.ly/LG_Lettering

Sign up to buy the comic on our website: https://www.ithaqacomic.com/

FB: https://www.facebook.com/pg/IthaqaComic/about/?ref=page_internal
Twitter: @IthaqaComic

Sort:  

Posted using Partiko Android

Whenever I go tot he library they give me a receipt that shows how much money I saved using the library....it's a lot haha

Hello @drwatson, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

That's so awesome, thanks! Hopefully see you around!

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Haha, thanks NEEEEERD


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83