Night Patrol... A Breakdown Of The Artwork

in #art5 years ago

Hey all! I've been working on a new image, trying to get my night time shots looking up to snuff.... Not that easy when dealing with digital lighting, lots of trial and error. I decided for a bluish tint to help with the nighttime perspective, as well as backlighting, flashlight effect and a few other tricks. I think the image came out okay, let me know what you all think. Here is the finished image, and a little breakdown of the work. I put a larger one at bottom of post so you can get a closer look. Enjoy...

tpatrol.jpg

The first step is to create the scene. I used DAZ Studio, and DAZ3D assets. Ruined buildings, car ruin, M3 figure, Mos Invasion outfit, and my desert paint for the outfit.

twire.jpg

ttexture.jpg

Once that was done and placed where I wanted, I had to create a camera angle for cinematic effect, and light the scene with backlighting, flashlight glare, turn down the atmosphere considerably, and use several blue tinted spotlights to give it the old night feel.

tbeforepaint.jpg

After several trial renders I got these two, which I then took into Pixelmator, My photo editor, and combined them, setting each as a layer, the dark one over the lighter one, then erased the dark away in places I wanted to show more.

I then went to Pixabay and got the image I would need for the sky.

tpixabay.jpg

From here, I used several photoshop brushes that are compatible with my editor, creating mist, rain, rain drops, back drop destroyed buildings, flashlight effect, a few twigs, grass, and rain runoff on the houses. Each addition needs to be a new layer. if you paint directly on the image, you cannot rotate, move, or reshape your brush to fit the image where you want it. Layers... I love and hate layers. They are needed, but if you forget to create a new one with each addition, you can run into issues quick.

tpaint.jpg

After about 9 hours.... mostly cause I'm picky and use a lot of trial and error to get those happy accidents that work... I got what I was looking for and then combined my layers and fooled with the color options until I got the mood I wanted. And that's it! Hope you like the image, would really like some feedback. And as promised, here is a bigger version to look at. Thanks for looking and have a great day!

tp2.jpg

Sort:  

this is definitely a passion for you! how do i know? 9 hours later..... hahahahaha
any time you spend 9 hours staring at a screen.... LOL it BETTER be a passion hehehe

its great - and i'm a sucker for blue lighting and glow and lightning! heheehe so - its fabulous

I'd love to see these same effects and colors - but in the middle of a storm in a field... mmmmm i love lightning!!!

great job :)

Looks really neat, Dennis :) I love the atmospheric environment that you've set here... Very thorough step by step presentation, as well!

Do you have an online gallery outside of Steemit at all? I'd like to browse your arts further :D

Thanks, glad you like the work. I used to, I don't maintain it anymore, nor have anything that wasn't done 10 plus years ago. Deviantart.com under dwmitchell. Some of the better work I'm bringing over to steemit, as well as some of my writing and photography. I'm also starting to put some new work together like this piece which will only be here for now. So if you check out my blog on occasion, I should have some new stuff for you to look at. I try to post at least once a week, depending on my work schedule. Again, thanks for the reply, and glad you liked the post. Should be another one coming in a few hours / days... soon. Doing just a digital portrait for some fun. Have a great day.

PS, that's funny, I replied to this post and it was hooked to another....

Just finished another piece you might be interested in. Have a great day!

Congratulations @dutybound! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thanks, glad you like the work. I used to, I don't maintain it anymore, nor have anything that wasn't done 10 plus years ago. Deviantart.com under dwmitchell. Some of the better work I'm bringing over to steemit, as well as some of my writing and photography. I'm also starting to put some new work together like this piece which will only be here for now. So if you check out my blog on occasion, I should have some new stuff for you to look at. I try to post at least once a week, depending on my work schedule. Again, thanks for the reply, and glad you liked the post. Should be another one coming in a few hours / days... soon. Doing just a digital portrait for some fun. Have a great day.

You got a 100.00% upvote worth $0.065 from @upvotewhale courtesy of @dutybound!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02