#Ulog Day 02: Progress not perfection 🖋

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Okay, first and foremost I wanted to take this opportunity to gladly give thanks to Sir Terry @surpassinggoogle for making #Ulog exist. This is such a great medium for us to appreciate our daily lives and stop comparing the living we have with other people.

So today, May 05 saturday was such a typical day for me. I did the laundry, fixed some stuffs, fed my cats, do the dishes and cook the rice i cannot cook well so might try to cook rice instead to give help to the fam 😂. Also I was able to write and continue my 100 Tula mula sa akin: Poem 04- Buntong Hininga ❤.

And aside from the usual things I'm doing every saturday, today I also decided to go back to my craft.

PicsArt_04-17-10.38.26.jpg

I was a Calligrapher since 2015, it was introduced to me by one of my churchmate. t that time pointed pen calligraphy were just about to rise up again in the philippines. Of course, I was curious about it and really wanted to try it. But curiosity ain't enough honey, you need a desire, a willingness to learn, tons of patience and a budget (coz' materials aren't free and kinda pricey) It was a rough start to sum it up. I ended up buying a set of nibs and pen holder and tried pointed pen. But then I hot wasily frustrated because it wasn't thay easy as I expected to be. I mean seeing other people writing smoothly made me realized that "Ah it just and easy breezy thing to do" But nah uhh.

So then I started to write using Freehand or more likely known as your own font but I didn't get satisfied with that. So I explored Instagram and guess what, there I met some of the greatest pointed pen Calligrapher and one of them is so kind. It's Ate Nina Tran, she has a filipino blood calligrapher who is based in US. Instantly she became my Ate and virtual mentor for Engrosser Script or popularly known as Copperplate. From 2015 up until now, I still watch her vids and tutorials. And can I just say that she had a good soul for teaching us the knowledge she had in calligraphy? I cry.

And now, she is hosting a copperplate bootcamp in Instagram. This is a great way to hold ourselves and go back to the basics. A 7 days copperplate bootcamp! Wohooo.

Actually today was the 5th day already but I'm just getting started, it's not that bad to catch up right? So here is my Day 0, going back to the basic strokes.

IMG_-jfdmtm.jpg

Unfortunately, I forgot to download and print the guidesheet she provided and I'm to lazy to prepare my nibs, pen and inks so I used my fudenosuke brush pen instead.

Day 0 is about learning and familiarizing yourself to the basic strokes of minuscule. These strokes are used to make every lowercase letter. And you see I did write down all the notes i need to pay attention with. AAAAAA there's so much things to learn nd to catch up. Plus, I need to go back in exercising my hands by doing some drills. But for now, I guess this will do.

So, I'll document the following Days of my copperplate bootcamp jouney. I hope I could share it with you guys also. Yay!


IMG_20180116_235645.JPG

Thank you for reading! ✨

-Dy


Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Day 0 is about learning and familiarizing yourself to the basic strokes of miniscule.
It should be minuscule instead of miniscule.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69