Blockchain Illiteracy by Babyboomer

in #art5 years ago

This is my friend Christina, she made a Steemit profile but she's not sure she's gonna use it, because it's too complicated. She loves Instagram and keeps spamming it with multiple colourful videos a day. She doesn't understand why her own credit card sometimes, like why she can’t spend anymore after merely taking the ferry. That being said she can’t exactly fathom the blockchain or any of the possibilities.

She gave me her account and I took it because I think it would be a waste to loose it to the endless graveyard of dead accounts. I wish for the account creation tokens to be useful. Social media is a powerful tool but it should also be seen as a great responsibility.

I might try to convince her to use Steem with this account a bit more, we shall see. I would love to have more people I know in real life be active members of the platform per se.

IMG_20190405_180928.jpg

She has been coming to my classes at the Roundhouse and was instrumental in making the first round of Sketching In Situ a success.

IMG_20190222_151603.jpg
I love this photo, it portrays an innocence not many people get to see. She is holding a sketch of a sculpture I believe was talking about the sexual trauma of indigenous folks, that happened under the oppressive residential schools. Made of paper mache, the figures had erect penises and puppet strings tied them up to a cross above them. Interesting to see how small mannequins were used as positive molds to shape the forms and how they must have been extracted from inside by cutting them.

The Talking Stick Festival is invaluable in celebrating art within First Nations and as always, the Roundhouse is where it all goes down.

IMG_20190301_134344.jpg

As it often happens, I included a mini portrait workshop specifically for people who missed the class, no hard feeling, it was a refreshing break from the interiors we had been doing. This is her portrait of me, I like the impressionist feel of it. Can you tell that she is German?

IMG_20190222_162954.jpg

This is Nathan, they are like family. He takes care of a large part of the business side of Briand’s artistic career. Brian Scott is her partner, even though he is central to their brand as painters, se can definitely hold her own. Brian speaks highly of Christina’s talent which is nice to see.

They are one disfunctional family the lot of them with all their exuberance. I love talking to Christina because she is so honest about her struggles. She is an amazing artist, a good listener and also quite funny.

IMG_20190405_183211.jpg

They have both become good friends, we are about to go for a steam at their condo, he just threw me a bathing suit so I guess I’ll see you later.

A261774D99844FA68DF1982AC10FF1EC.jpegB025FDAD8551421096729A4E6C2BFCCA.jpeg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

What a lovely, personal post. I really got the vibe of this moment. A pity Steemit isn't more user friendly, but she shpuld know, as I am sure you have told her, that it gets easier...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73