Every Day Is Pink Shirt Day

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Thank goodness for the much needed rain. The city feels alive again and our worries are postponed for a couple weeks. KAZAM! The kids did especially well this week in my Cartoon and Comics class. They joined forces in a historic jam right after practicing drawing Garnet from Steven Universe. I thought I would give them 15 minutes so they got 5 more minutes than the Tuesday class who also drew Chibi Thanos.

8E1D3675-F431-4284-90AB-0758685438D7.jpeg
This is just too cute! Under the quarrelling sun, it is love at first sight for Watermelon and Pizza.

26C7CD62-74FC-4E14-917A-6D2A38AC1D32.jpeg
Extreme bread head person celebrates pink shirt day every day. It’s ironic because I raised quite a bit of awareness with these children that day. Garnet is fiercely voluptuous and I had to make it clear with some of the boys that that is not called fat. My class is inclusive of all body types so we have to come together to find inventive ways to represent our characters in a positive light. Ok so maybe a clawy hand or angry eyes can represent the evil in a villain but even then, it’s something to think about because the bodies of the characters we create are valuable always. I also made it clear that it is “the age of woman” and that women should not have to worry about what people think of our bodies.

I received a text during class that a valuable portable speaker I neglected to store safely was found! I was so relieved. So much anxiety felt over it. I said “Woohhoo I just got some amazing news”.
A girl replied, “Was it a text from your girlfriend?”
I said, “I’m gay and no” I proceeded to tell them the good news I had received.
It kind of just came out.
I think it’s important given the occasion to be a good role model and express a thing or two about my individuality if it can help them later judge other people’s character. I am part of an oppressed group but they didn’t judge me. They didn’t ask any questions. I really think this group is super cool!

2E4A0E32-2180-4D89-853F-B6E45D149164.jpeg
Do you see a family resemblance between the two Garnets? That’s because a brother and sister made them. Can you guess which one if from the big sister?

BA4BAC14-124F-45D2-B305-10A62237E0A1.jpeg
This minecraft nonsense is just such a treat!

9B0E6563-DE8A-414B-A294-37F3C9A6F10A.jpeg
This one bums me out but it doesn’t make it any less awesome. Art can also allow us to be sad.

101A1B8C-AFBE-4220-A5F1-DFE0012B7E84.jpeg
I think our kids absorb a lot of violence through media. I am proud that in this case it was processed in a very intelligent way.

During the last 15 minutes we proceeded in duelling our creatures from a previous rando hybrid project. A pupil had brought her Dungeons and Dragons dice and we were trying our very own fighting system for the first time. I am very satisfied with the outcome, it is quite difficult to invent a role playing game but with the help of this long standing pupil A, I believe I can perfect it. The mechanics are based off an RPG I created when I was 12. Say the most basic attack is called tackle, you roll 1 d 10.

If you get 1, you miss.
If you get 2 to 8, you deal 1 damage.
If you get 9 or 10, you deal 2 damage.

It is very straight forward nothing fancy but you can build tremendously on top of that by stunning your ennemies or using attacks of an element which is the weakness of the opposing creature for example.

One such attack is called art inspiration. It can only be used once in a battle but once but if it succeeds, the user wins in a peaceful way by creating art that moves the opposing creature.

Thank you for dropping by, your support means everything to me. be well!

Steemit Dreamit is on Facebook and Discord!
898CF732-5757-4102-8667-BD3A9997FAD1.jpeg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Kids can really have their own creative. Continue your good work in stimulate creativity in them! Cheers!

Thank you for helping me make this a successful post, what’s wonderful about keeping these children stimulated is what positive an outcome it has for us :)

You got a 4.59% upvote from @upme thanks to @edouard! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84