First class of Spring

in #art5 years ago

It is my honour to show you what my grown ups have been up with for Sketching and Drawing.

With every season a new group and this one shows dedication big time.

IMG_20190409_202051.jpg
Complex subjects like this utensil container are good for understanding shapes and because simplifying is necessary, it reinforces accurate observation.

This student did a stellar job at depicting light and shadow in a gestural manner. It has so much movement!

The Manila paper donated by Rath Art Supplies offers a perfect mid tone to showcase the white conte.

IMG_20190409_201853.jpg

From the bucket to the utensils and finally, the still life, we explored what drawing is all about. The participants trusted themselves which is generally a good way to go.

It takes time to understand shading but quite frankly I’m impressed that so many went for it.

IMG_20190409_193652.jpg

This is a 4 minute drawing by me. I wanted to show an example of the gestalt which is how we see shape in psychology jargon. The architectural line establishes a rapport of hierarchy between the two tallest objects.

IMG_20190409_193455.jpg

The students were all watching me as I made this 7 minute drawing which was the timing of 2 such drawings on their part afterwards; the header being one of them. No pressure! As I was drawing the scissor handles, I mentioned foreshortening. It’s a little stif but that partly has to do with the angle I had.

Hahaha! Who am I kidding?!

Thank you for dropping by my little spider of the Cyberweb, keep on Steeming on!

FDD67FD8-9C9D-46CB-8828-874EB75140A1.jpeg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78