Painting with the Ladies

in #art5 years ago (edited)

I was disappointed in the enrollment of one of my drawing classes but decided to hold the first class after the free trial anyway. As I was making my way there, my three loyal students had hatched a plan to have private art classes in one of their homes. two of the ladies have been taking my drawing classes for many years and I have grown quite fond of them for sticking around all this time. It is great validation which helps me grow as a teacher tremendously.

we decided to make the jump to watercolours and for this class I used a tutorial with 4 mini paintings, all exploring the possibilities of atmospheric perspective using light in the middle of the composition. One of the perks of working with thumbnails is to be able to let entire wet on wet under-paintings dry while you move on to another small picture. Another advantage is to have the ability to experiment before exploring a full scale rendition which is exactly what happened, I based a recent exhibition on the underwater painting but more on that later.

IMG_20190529_165154.jpg

This is the woman who offered to host the classes, what a wonderful spirit. I always listen to her opinion because she is largely self-taught, well aware that if she fails to challenge herself, no one else will. She heard of my class through a fitness class I was subbing but when she enrolled, I had no idea I would get to know her so well. Ironically, I was subbing the fitness class again after 4 years when she reminded my that it was how we first met.

Cicely is surprisingly supportive of her peers given how down to earth she can be. She has mastered the art of constructive criticism by making sure to emphasize the bright side of things.

She became close friends with Pat who started on the same class in September 2016.

IMG_20190529_165209.jpg

This is curious Mae, she joined our merry band of misfits about a year ago. I'm not going to lie, she put me on the spot with art related questions more then once but I love it. They are questions that benefit other students and her way of interacting makes every class different. The short answer is usually: this exercise help create new neural pathways.

IMG_20190530_013928.jpgIMG_20190530_013857.jpgIMG_20190530_014013.jpg

This is what they created in an hour and a half. isn't it sublime? Cicely cut hers up in order to put the mini paintings in her sketchbook and the one with the little creature in the sky is a student from another class.

Learning watercolour can be daunting which is why I am so grateful to have found a tutorial that is so simple. A minimal palette is great to help understand the potential in the different levels of saturation for the same colour.

IMG_20190529_130628.jpgIMG_20190529_151612.jpgIMG_20190529_170222.jpgIMG_20190529_125017.jpg

I have been fascinated with my city this spring looking at the lush flora brought on by abundant rain. I feel blessed to be look at the majestic trees although it saddens me how they are being cut down at an alarming rate. Vancouver still has some powerful nature, we are blessed by an oceanic climate and it makes me smile.

Sort:  

Learning something is always good...make everyday count...

Posted using Partiko Android

I like that thought quite a lot, thank you.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @steemflow.

this is a beautiful street 😎
all streets are filled with trash in seoul lol

I am very lucky indeed, sending you some greenery love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79