My Rock Painting hobby

in #art6 years ago

What is rock painting?

For anyone who hasn't heard of rock or pebble painting, you basically paint a rock or pebble, seal it with varnish and then write a comment on the back. I belong to a Facebook Rock Painting group so I write the following instructions 'Please share on Facebook and rehide, Chesterfield UK rocks.' After you've painted it go and hide it outside somewhere. The finder then posts a picture on Facebook and then rehides. It's amazing how far these rocks travel. Unfortunately, not everyone is on Facebook, or has the internet or they just haven't the time so a lot of rocks disappear, never to be seen again. I don't mind if people keep them or don't post as long as it brings a smile to someone, then it's all been worthwhile.

Here are a few of my rocks that I've painted over the past few months.

20180809_160621.jpg

I sent this photo of my rock cherry cake to a friend and she actually thought I was having it for my tea!

20180224_124519.jpg

I couldn't part with this one so it's residing in my bathroom.

20180815_100715.jpg

If you varnish the rock before it's dry the paint runs which can add to the effect.

Skull pebble.jpg

One of my skull rocks that's since been found and rehid.

20180225_171304.jpg

Another one that is now in my bathroom.

Three pebbles.jpg

And last but not least ...... thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ellenripley! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87